Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Great Nation

by IAmSpencer - Compo Entry

"Great Nation"
--------------

Ruling a nation can be tough.

Make the right choices, balance your nation's wealth, population, and food supply.
Make your nation the strongest in the land.
Make your nations people happy.

Make your nation GREAT.


*NOTE*: This game doesn't have a win state. The only goal is to survive for as long as you can. It does have an ending, though, I don't want to spoil it, so let's just say: you'll definitely know when the game ends / you lose. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#23Theme4.42
#90Humor3.50
#115Audio3.58
#117Overall3.77
#163Graphics3.82
#170Innovation3.70
#202Mood3.41
#274Fun3.44

Comments

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08am

Excellent! Your interpretation of the theme is really similar to mine, too, so bonus points for that.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08am

very satisfying tactileness

srakowski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08am

Loved making my nation great again :). Great art/audio. Some of the cards/results were funny. Good job :)

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11am

love this game! excellent work!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13am

Very interesting game, but could have used more variety in the events that occur. I liked the graphics, and the sounds were quite nice.

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16am

nice use of the theme

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

I liked this a lot! I like it's a super casual strategy/role-playing game. Maybe I didn't get far enough, but it never seems to lead up to anything though? Anyway, nice :)

jward says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20am

Ha, great interpretation of the theme! I enjoyed it!

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Very well done!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

lol, love it, awesome game :)

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

So simple, but the graphical effects are nice and it is a nice polished game!

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Cool game i liked it, its fun!

adamyounis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Pretty good game, though I felt like I was losing only because there were certain cards that didn't show up / exist. The production values were good though, and I played a few games. I think the framework is strong, I'd play a deeper version for sure.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Oh I love the art and sounds !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14am

Neat game, lovely art. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/LlS8bcKfkfQ

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23am

Haha, social commentary~ It does capture the essence of making tough decisions rather nicely.

chrizdekok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:01am

Great game. Really love the pixel art and the bouncing effect of the "cards"

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:22am

This is a clever idea, but the random effects are SO random that it seems like you have to play for a very long time to have a chance of the proper combinations showing up.

It seems possible to have 3-5 negative effects happen in a row, and no real way to avoid it. At one point I think I got the same effect 3-4 times in a row.

Food, power, and love are especially hard to increase. Just now, I went through 30 events in a row with ZERO events that had the possibility of increase food.

It's especially bad because one effect makes you choose between food and love. Love is very hard to increase, but if you lose food instead you're losing love anyway because of hungry people. So I try to focus on food first, but as mentioned, you can easily go through 30+ events without even having a chance to boost food, and there are MANY chances to lose food instead.

Just once I managed to get through the first round with all positive values, but that was because of luck, and then it went downhill because of the balance. How did you manage to beat this game yourself? :(

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Simple and straightforward game, liked the choices and effects, as well as the final results. Audio felt a bit basic. Had fun playing this multiple times though, so you got me there!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Awesome game concept, found this from looking at the youtube video from jupi!
As the game proceeded, i was wondering if you could lose or win the game. My people hated me all the time (how do i get more love?). But it only meant that I would get one population drop every turn..not really a big problem.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Really good game, very simple but very fun. I like this idea a lot. Unfortunately my nation didn't like me. I'll stick to being a programmer :)

PanKamil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Great idea, it's like Europa Universalis realm decisions made arcade :D. It would be even more interesting if we had limted time for making decisions :>.

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06pm

I feel powerful when I play this :3
Nice concept. Too bad it gets repetitive after a while, but I still had fun :D

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11pm

This was very fun! I was expecting some silly game but instead it turned out to be pretty cool. Shame there's not a whole lot of choices to make, and most of them are repeated. Loved the status updates though, really made it feel like what you were doing was making more of a difference than changing numbers. Graphics are a bit simple for me but complement the game, and audio is awesome. Well done!

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Nice concept.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Really nice and simple. Loved all the music. :D

PeteDS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Good game, can get frustrating at points because of your own stupidity earlier on! Great graphics and fits with the theme very well.

Zetym says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Really well done, feels solid and like high quality work.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

[ETC from Creative Sectors]:
I like this way of approach to the theme, it's like a voting machine with real world problems. I found it very entertaining for a while, then a lot of negative events appeared before I could fill the last line, Love into positive or greenish state. One important thing I learned with this game is that you never let Power affected and keep it at least one green, to go on continously.
I really like the 8-bit atmosphere you made for this game it really goes well with the music and I love that you used JavaScript technology to create it.

cimbaman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Very nice game, could play for hours :)

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Such a good idea! Would have loved to play longer but the messages started repeating fairly quickly x

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:15am

I think it's a good idea. As for me i'd like to add more various events for future.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:19am

Awesome game. I liked your interpretation of the theme. It felt quite balanced and I laughed at the ending. :)

vortex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Your game looks really nice, and bonus points for a good in game tutorial

randomhuman says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Ooops, I was deposed :(

brainstorm says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Great use of the theme, seen it in other entries!Good sense of humor lack of questions makes it a bit repetitive though.

4/5

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:59am

Very fun game! Gosh I had such a hard time keeping the stats up. At least my people were happy! :P

The music was really nice and the game tended to also be very funny. I liked it a lot. Nice work! :)

local minimum says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Very nice entry. I kind of figure that the point of the game is that you can't win. I'm all for that. But it would have been nice if the illusion of the possibility of managing the country was a little stronger. Basically coming down to having more cards and just making sure that there's a general surplus of negative effects. I played a few cycles and it might be I was unlucky but I never got any chance to gain power. Right off the start I lost one and then I never saw any +1 power card at all. Good entry though.

caryoscelus says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:13am

I think there're not enough food+ cards being generated.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Great interpretation on the theme. I loved that I had unhappy people but was good in all other areas. You can never please people :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]