Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Unbarren

by Orava - Jam Entry

 

Terraform a barren planet for the settlers.

Control the pilot inside the ship and use the widgets to control the ship itself.

----

Please leave feedback on mood and graphics in the comments, as those were the focus!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#177Theme(Jam)4.07
#211Graphics(Jam)4.00
#258Mood(Jam)3.55
#541Overall(Jam)3.30

Comments

crabcrabcam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Very nice game. Difficult to get a t the start because of too much reading I didn't do, but otherwise ver nice

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Mood and graphics definitely stand out. It's fun to just coast along the surface pulling levers and listening to the woody, percussive music. I wasn't sure what tilting the craft did, but I tilted it too much and flew up off-screen for a bit! Good job on this, it's nice and relaxing.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44am

It is confusing at the start even though I've red everything you wrote. I like the idea of controlling a craft from inside but the game is quite boring in the end to be honest. The best thing is visuals. I like how every tree has a unique structure. Keep up the good work :)

xevozfighter says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09pm

It is interesting. It took me a bit to get used to the controls. If you continue working on this I would definitely suggest adding music as that will greatly improve the mood. Also, I don't know if this happened to anyone else, but when I got hit by a rock and died the game froze.

AlexLemminG says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Beautiful one, but it's not really a game. Try adding some challenges to achieve

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Would totally love to see the ^mood and graphics^ this game has developed into a full game with gameplay. Endless possibilities!

Boonearth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Good job i like the terraform games alot and that one blew my mind with the nice graphics and you got that grow theme down and the mood is relaxing the overall you dod a 5/5 good job

MrMordem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Nice and cool game, just difficult to understand how it's work at the start, many thing to read i think

Zintex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:20pm

This game is innovative and I can't give 5 stars for innvovation but I want. Very original idea

Oski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Beautiful, but I couldn't figure out what to do. I got a tree to grow, though.

Tyler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Graphics were good, but could use more animations and some more slight detail. Mood was amazing, though, and the audio was perfect!

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:38am

Interesting idea that could be a fun game with a bit more gameplay. The visuals are very nice. The first screen was very intimidating and I spent a long time reading before I realised the game had started. Well done.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:06am

I didnt un derstood I could co up and down in the ship so moving the levers was a bit tricky at first. You can't see ground very well depending on your height and rotation. The game itselef is beautiful but lacks some extra gameplay to make it more fun.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:08am

Nice graphics and audio, but it's a bit boring. I would love this if it had more content. Like, actual gameplay. :D It is a nice chill game though.

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:11am

I've get a bug that game was stopped when i came to the left.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Really nice game, the graphics and mood were excellent.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]