Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Forest growth

by chabuduo - Jam Entry

Grow a forest!

Create a forest valuable enough to not be cut down!

html5, js

zzz goodnight

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#60Theme(Jam)4.28
#146Innovation(Jam)3.71
#175Fun(Jam)3.62
#306Overall(Jam)3.54
#507Mood(Jam)3.22
#712Humor(Jam)2.28
#832Graphics(Jam)2.76

Comments

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23pm

My forest is indeed glorious! Fun little game, made me want to play it to the end.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Fun! Played it to the end

colinator27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Very addicting and fun, you should really do something with this game, it's so awesome! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Hah, my forest is glorious!
Fun, nice and enjoyable. You definitely need some zen sounds and music for this one and a little more graphics. Could actually be a very relaxing thing

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

kabel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Fun and incredibly short game. Kind of like a very early stage of an idle game.

pixzleone says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Really cool, loved to see my forest growing. Can also throw in there that it runs perfect on iOS! Good job!

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:08am

i like the concept, i agree with the lack of sound, with some slow-moody music, this game can suck me for hours probably, looking at those growing trees

logon13 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:15am

Fun game. Thought I would have to reset the cut meter multiple times but I didn't have to do it once

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:19am

Nice little game! It would have been cool if the trees had more art variations. Very simple but satisfying. Good work!

Baransu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:42pm

I really like idle games and I think it's cool idea. With sound it could be better :D

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:55pm

nice)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Fun little game. I played it all the way through. Only thing it was missing was some music.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:23pm

I love forests, and I hate to see them to be cut ! Just for that, I like this game.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:54am

A relaxing idle game. Pretty fun, actually!

Blobo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:51pm

this was quite accomplishing. i have a glorious forest! this was a fun little game, and i like the shop machinic.

samreid says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Nice work, my son played this game a long time.

Larzan says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Nice game. Simple but captivating because of the theme, save the forest, make them not want to cut it.
Well done.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Fun concept, would have liked more variety in the trees, and perhaps it would be better to have the upgrades visible without the upgrade button (which pauses the game). A tree of upgrades could have been fun too ;-) Also, the game is very easy, next time try to keep some time for balancing. Very well done overall!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]