Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Akuto

by renegadeninjanl - Jam Entry

___________________STORY___________________
Play as an rōnin that is trying to defeat all other samurai on the land
and become the greatest of warrior that the world has seen!


___________________CONTROLS___________________
The game can be played either with gamepad (recommended) or with keyboard.
Recommended gamepad to use is Xbox 360.

Movement is by LEFT ANALOG STICK or WASD keys
Attack is Gamepad [A] or SPACE Key
Block is Gamepad [B] or LEFT SHIFT

If you are moving and press the attack button, you will do a dash forward attack;
otherwise, it is a standing attack. A tip is not to attack them straight ahead
but a little from the side so that your katana hits the enemy while missing their block.

It is a one-hit kill game, both for the rōnin and the samurai.

This is a short game and can be finished in minutes (depending on skill).


___________________ABOUT___________________
The game used the theme 'Two Button Controls' as I created the game using a gamepad
using the analog stick for movement. You can't count the analog stick as a button right, right?

This game was all made by me, except for the music which I got from
Audionautix <http://audionautix.com/>. The game was made in Unity,
with 3D models created in Blender.

I originally planned on several short levels with more one-on-one combat
but there wasn't enough time. You can blame it on my slow 3D modelling skills.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#325Mood(Jam)3.45
#336Innovation(Jam)3.38
#492Graphics(Jam)3.50
#503Fun(Jam)3.17
#624Humor(Jam)2.47
#692Overall(Jam)3.13
#1053Theme(Jam)2.45
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Great presentation! I was soooooo bad at it, though. . . :D

Catblocker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Well that was fun.
Really nice graphics and smooth animations.
The AI for the enemyes is surprisingly good.

The biggest con with this game is the lach of items/objects.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30pm

I like the visual style, especially in action with a kill. Quite cinematic for dramatic emphasis. Indeed too bad I was quickly wandering around an empty green space littered with the limp, lifeless bodies of my former enemies.

Had fun tho'

AlexLemminG says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:16am

Too hard from the beginning, but soooo beautiful!

luysse_l says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:16pm

beautiful game ! nice

parias001 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Wow! I played it until I mastered it! Really impressive! I would like to see this game finished, I'm sure it will be awesome! Keep it up!

vinipereira says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:45pm

The game is good, but the theme wasn`t contempled. Btw I enjoy the gameplay feel.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:40pm

this game is beautiful, but i don't think it fits the theme. would like to see it evolving. WASD + left shift and space bar felt uncomfortable, you could allow the use of arrow buttons for keyboard playing. Good work.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:02pm

HAAHHAHAHAHAHA my wife died. Fun, cool graphics, great mood and funny as hell. Well done guys.

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:32am

Beautiful presentation, the model moves really nicely, and what's there feels really good, you must have put a lot of time into getting that central hit to feel right, which is fantastic.

The Hotline Miami style one hit pace tells the story of the ronin very well.

But it's a one-trick pony with a couple of flaws:

1. The camera angle is terrible. I have to constantly remind myself what pressing up means, and that completely kills the intuitiveness of combat, especially considering it's supposed to be simple one-button.

2. Similarly, having to remind myself that I cut to the left of my character on top of remembering that up is not up... argh.

So I can't even imagine how to play the game intuitively (which was what's needed) with those things bogging it down.

Also, has what to do with the theme?

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Wow! I love this game. I played it 5 times in a row. Good job

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Beautiful nice game genre, but there are problems with the management and the camera, a little uncomfortable. And so, good work.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:00pm

This is a really nice concept! I love the 3D models and the simplistic look to the game.

The enemy AI really impressed me and presented a really nice challenge. It takes a little getting used to the fighting controls but it's really nice.

I think having to use multiple buttons/keys for movement and attack is not quite necessarily "two-buttons" but no one said it had to be. It can be taken literally or even not at all.

Either way, I enjoyed your game. Good stuff!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:11am

This was a fun entry. Very frustrating to play with a keyboard I think. I could never get a good line on the enemies, so I was unable to complete it :(. The best strategy seemed to be to stand still and just standing attack them when they dive in.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:45am

Beautiful and very smart fight system. Easy to learn hard to master. With a bit more content and an actual ending ( I killed everyone but nothing happens ) it would be a very solid entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]