Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Gravi Blitz

by NIGIC - Jam Entry

A two-player, split-screen arcade game where you must use polarized gravity to bring objects to the opponent's black hole.

Grow the opponent's Black Hole with Matter (yellow), and shrink your's with Antimatter (cyan). The Point Ball will move towards the largest Black Hole, and when it reaches the target, you score!

Built in around 24 hours, the game was planned for mobile, using a two-button interface (Positive and negative polarity, with movement set to touch/drag). Online multiplayer had to be dropped due to time restraints, so the current build is for PC with split-screen multiplayer.

Enjoy!

NOTE: There seems to be some issues with cursor detection and Fullscreen Mode. Windowed Mode should work fine. Also, note that the volume on some sound effects is not quite balanced properly. I apologize for any inconvenience.

CONTROLS

Player 1:
Arrows / WASD - Rotation
Space / G - Thrust Forward
X / Left Shift - Positive polarity (Attract yellow)
Z / Right Ctrl - Negative polarity (Attract blue)

Player 2:
Mouse Movement / NumPad 8456 - Rotation
Middle Click / NumPad Enter - Thrust Forward
Left Click / NumPad . - Positive polarity (Attract yellow)
Right Click / NumPad 0 - Negative polarity (Attract blue)

PATCH NOTES:
1.0.1 - Fixed a bug where matter mass would not be reset correctly upon respawn.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#137Innovation(Jam)3.72
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#656Graphics(Jam)3.17
#670Audio(Jam)2.44
#716Overall(Jam)3.11
#806Humor(Jam)2.00
#833Mood(Jam)2.72
#848Theme(Jam)3.21
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42pm

While I didn't have a local partner (so I couldn't test out the game as it was intended). Only real negative in the actualization of your game design is the sound effects. While all actions should have some audio cue, your choice makes my head hurt. Music is pretty decent though.

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34pm

There is anoying sounds but it's an interesting game

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25pm

I like the idea, but the controls are very difficult and could use some work. Keep it up!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I really liked the idea!

NIGIC says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:53am

A bit late on the response, didn't get much free time over the last two weeks.

Sorry about the sound effects; there's definitely some volume balancing issues. The sound clips themselves are fairly rudimentary, too.

Controls work more or less as intended. There's always some possible improvements, but I felt it was a good balance between the feel of moving around in a vacuum and ease of use. (That said, the inputs themselves are obviously not as intended.)

Thanks for commenting!

Bobrocket says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 1:05pm

This is a really cool idea! Would love to see it on mobile

Anti says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:37pm

I liked the idea but the controlls was very hard to learn. Overall it was pretty good. Keep up the good work!

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Neat idea for a game, presentation is pretty clean and nice. As people have said, the sound effects are a bit abrasive, but thats a minor gripe thats easily fixed. Would like to see a single player mode.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Very solid entry, I always love to see multiplayer Ludum Dare games regardless of the fact that I have noone to test them with.
This one was among the easier ones to test and the more interesting ones.

I'll be honest, the audio has its problems, but I don't think that it would be that bad as others said.

Altogether, nicely done entry, these are the ones making it worthwhile to participate in the rating of the entries.
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]