Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Thrust

by Lo-X - Compo Entry

I chose the 'two buttons control' theme.

Thrust is a space racing game, in which you will have to avoid the walls and try to pickup as many cargo crates as you can. To do that, you can only go up and down. The crates will grant you additional points.

Players scores will be saved online and the best 15 will be displayed in-game! You will also be able to find the whole score table at this address: http://monstruosor.com/

I made my game from scratch in C++ using SFML lib. I used Gimp for graphics resources, Audacity and online generators for the music and SFXR for the sounds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#187Audio3.33
#278Overall3.50
#328Graphics3.39
#346Theme3.89
#365Mood3.13
#463Fun3.17
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Azor1 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47am

This is a fun game. I can't stop playing it (if you couldn't tell from the high score table)

Remblej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38am

You could make more smooth movement with accelerate. And taking bonuses often cause you to lose, because of there is no way to take it and move fast enough. But making highscore board was very good move, though.

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:51am

A really challenging game! Was fun trying to get to the top of the scoreboard.

Lo-X says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58am

@all : thank you for playing and giving your feedback

@Remblej : The game accelerates by itself with time, I wanted to give the player an action to boost the ship but.. 2 buttons. I haven't thought to make objects that gives you more speed, it would be a nice upgrade!

alyphen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:58am

A lot of fun to play, and very competitive with the high score table. Can be very difficult to judge whether going for a crate is worth it, and that sort of risk/reward system seems to pay off quite well. I found more success just going straight for the holes and only hitting crates if they were in my path as I was able to keep going a lot longer.

roninfight says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38pm

A few critics of the bat. The sound design is horrible. The music is alright but the sound effects killed my ears.
The controls feel really sluggish. Very often, it's not possible to grab a cargo and make it back in time to the opening. That's a shame, I truly believe that the game would be immensely more enjoyable with snappy controls.

The graphics are quite simple and attractive. Kudos on maintaining a shared leaderboard.

Lo-X says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06pm

@roninfight : if all the cargo were on the path and were grabbable, where would the fun be, where would choices be ? If would be mainstream and nearly without difficulties, IMO. I can agree with you on everything else, but I do not on that point.

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:57am

Simple and solid gameplay, nice enough graphics.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Whaaaat, I'm ranked number one on your leaderboards ;) Great game, very addicting. Could see in a mobile store! Cool graphics, nice calm music, and fun game overall! You should rate more games so people can see this one! c:

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Flappy space ship sort of feel.

Rogod says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:44pm

It's ok as a game, not amazing, but ok.
The graphics are acceptable but fairly unimaginative and difficult to focus on at points.
The controls and the style aught to have been left/right with the map scrolling vertically so you can press left or right quicker - using up and down means you're constantly moving your finger between them delaying your reactions.
Also got frustrated that the pickups can't always be picked up. Their position should be calculated so as to be both a challenge and also able to get back to a safe place afterwards, not just placed at random with no assurance that you can make it back to safety.

utgarda says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:25pm

Thanks for the Linux build! Good work!

UncleChris says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:25pm

I enjoyed it. I liked the high score board, and agree - had to learn to skip getting bonus to keep living. Audio was very good.

Skaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:25pm

Not too bad, but some pickups can't be taken without dying, it gets more a matter of "can I pick it up or not" than reflexes.

geckojsc says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Simple concept but a really well polished entry! I found the neon graphics to be quite pleasant, maybe a bit too much glow in some places but if that's what you intended with the design then I can't complain :)

The online leaderboards certainly add an extra dimension of competitiveness to the game. Nice work!

YinYin says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:20am

I liked the zingy pickup sound. Matched the ship visuals.

Music loop got tiring before it actually looped the first time though ... and the high submission doesn't work. In fact no buttons below the name input worked for me.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]