Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Depression

by Halleflux - Compo Entry

Unfortunately, Unity doesn't like making web programs. So no Web GL. Sorry.

This game was too far out of scope as far as writing/designing goes, so it may feel more than a bit... confused.



Controls: WAD and Spacebar (after you encounter the other being)

This is essentially a story of a person suffering from depression. The growth is their character as they progress.

Note: Leave me your honest feedback. I've gotten feedback before that doesn't nearly match the voting results, and it's really useless to me to be complemented for a job badly done. Leaving me your ratings could also help. Thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#81Mood3.78
#412Overall3.32
#433Innovation3.22
#564Graphics2.95
#900Theme2.83
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:22am

Cool graphics but I got really bad framerate

Magicolo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29am

Level progression is much too slow.
The growth theme is not obvious

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30am

Is the interpretation "if you're depressed, just kill yourself to get through"? That's what it seems to convey...

Still, mood was nice, I kind of liked the theming. But I can't give it stars for growth because of the perceived message.

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:41am

Nice work on the atmosphere, I almost yell out when I found I could reverse the gravity(that's how I call the ability, lol). Love the mood.

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50am

Played again, all the way through, at the request of the author.

My score is unchanged after playing through the whole thing, but I wasn't that far from the end in the first place. The growth, I guess being, that you can lift someone else up even at your darkest moments?

But that also doesn't feel like growth for a lot of reasons I don't feel like getting into.

To be fair, my other interpretation was a little bit of a joke. But it did seem like what the game was conveying and could convey.

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:33am

Cant say I felt much of a message come through. Even though you stated there was some deep meaning. The mechanics are cool; However, It was difficult for me to learn the controls. I got to the white beanstalk thing and it took me 5 minutes to realise that spacebar did something.

There's something about the challenge of the games themselves that distracts from meaning. If I'm thinking about a puzzle, I am not thinking about the meaning of the work unless that puzzle has some meaning expressed through how I solve it or some other method.

Anyway, Nicely crafted game programming wise. Runs very smooth for me and the mechanics are cool, but too distracting from any meaning. Well Done!

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08am

You can make a WebGL build in Unity (e.g. 5.3) provided that you run the installer and install the module to build for WebGL.

lectric.monk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37am

LOVE this. I'm not sure why other's aren't getting it, but I sure did. Such a great experience, love the concept and the depth. It was difficult to kill yourself to get through some things, but I understand why it was there. Great game! Maybe with some improved graphics it could be very special.

kabel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Nice, the optimization is quite bad, but it was an enjoyable little game. The thing with metaphors is, that if you have to explain them, they are no longer good. Either way, most of it was fairly clear, I wouldn't consider them metaphors, more like visual representations of simple feelings. Most games have these, even without knowing that they do. Also, a metaphor needs context and they tend to be a bit bigger than just color changes.
The levels are clean interesting and cool and easy to understand too, there were a lot of them, so it was nice to have a game that lasts longer than a minute (for a three day game jam). Also explaining the controls would have been nice, considering this has little to do with growing, I thought this had two button controls...
Worthy of a playthrough!

Mantlair says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:42pm

(THIS IS PROBABLY A HUGE SPOILER PLEASE PLAY BEFORE READING)

Deep. Before reading I thought It was about love. Like you try to be with someone. Do your best and they are not there. Then when you are thogather everthing goes fine and... loss. But yes your story is awesome. You couldve not suffered if you knew how to do that part is great. Alse you can put in another ending. After getting that power up you can easily go back to start of the game. Maybe you can put something at the start. The thing that put you in depression. And if you try go back and fix it after meeting that someone things can change. (I am thinking it as a not-well going job and someone you can love so things get better and such) I did go back with hope of finding something.

About game:

- Particle usage and the lighty spirit/pixie flying around part was great!
- There was a problem with framerate. Probably about particles.
- Animation of the character was nice.
- Please, please, please add an enviroment music. (Maybe 2, like mood is changing after you grow.)

Overall, well done!

Jacob123 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Kinda slow and dull. Didn't get any sense of a message with it.

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:15am

I like this game. The mechanics are working well with the theme. It surprised me several times during playthrough, which is great!
I would like to hear some more sound though.
I managed to go back all the way to the beginning with the ability to reverse gravity. I expected another ending :-)
Congratulations for making this game!

terryg says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:30am

This was a nice journey game. I liked the character movement and the reverse gravity effect. I thought the graphics were beautiful. SPOILER: At the very end when the main character reaches the other black character it seemed to go through a transformation and then the entire screen went white. That was not very satisfying since it happened so fast. Music would have been a big plus, especially for the different transformations that character makes. I really had fun playing/experiencing this game. Reminded me in some ways of Monument Valley. I think "complete failure" is WAY overly harse. You did a great job on on this. I played through it 3 times.

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:33am

I found the switching the gravity nice was fun to play with.

hyperscope says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:14am

Far from a failure but definitely room for improvement. I liked the use of particle effects in conjunction with the theme. Having said that I feel like this game has some more potential in terms of "mood" if some more work went into conveying depression in a slightly less ambiguous way. Although too much expression would ruin the mood i feel. Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe the up arrow was missing it's jump action.

The first few levels seemed stupid easy almost as if there was no point including them. And I'm not sure if it was by design but I didn't like having to intentionally jumping into spikes to proceed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]