Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Green Fingers

by nexust - Compo Entry

It's like an elemental 'Rock, Paper, Scissors' in which you grow a plant to receive lives using only one button (the left one on your mouse). It makes sense when (and if) you play it.

You will need Game Maker to look at my source... at least it's free!
Start a new project and import the file provided.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#188Graphics3.73
#503Mood2.93
#742Overall2.93
#793Theme3.27
#882Fun2.40
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

ciobeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:36pm

I didn't quite understand the game at first. But after a while I got it. And I enjoyed the audio quite a bit.

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27pm

I didn't get it :/ Good art though!

Got this error hitting "how to play":
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object oTut:

Variable oTut.rot(100019, -2147483648) not set before reading it.
at gml_Object_oTut_Step_0
############################################################################################

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29pm

I also got the error when trying to open how to play. Kind of got the hang of it after a while though, liked the music and the art!

nexust says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Ah! A completely irrelevant misplaced variable! No matter, I shall upload a fix right now.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05pm

It was really nicly done with good music. But if I'm not mistaken, the chans of winning is completly random. Wich i did not like :I

Otherwise.. Nice graphics, good musis. Everything was great!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Well, it's rock paper scissors. With some strategy added, yeah, but it's mostly RNG (if you can guess the enemy pattern then I'm wrong, but I didn't feel I could do so)

The music is chill, the graphics are nice, the sound effects are -way- too loud. I didn't find it particularly fun, but it wroked well and implemented the theme in an odd way.

nexust says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Thank you! The chances of winning are, however, not random. It's a case of observing patterns and playing to your advantages.
I'll let you in on my strategy as an example:
The 'enemy' elements change by one each frame. Timing is key. Each time the plant grows, it splits it's elements between you and the 'enemy'. This can give you an advantage. If your fire element is stronger than theirs, you will win a tie with fire. So if the 'enemy' is bouncing between leaf and fire, choose fire for a guaranteed! But keep an eye on the element values because they change every time the plant grows.

Pusty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

I just spammed water and my plant just grew. lol

But the music and art was awesome!

nexust says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04pm

You got REALLY lucky! How did you not run out of lives? :D

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:09pm

The game looks good, and the sounds are good too, but the gameplay is a not as clear as it could be

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:46pm

nice entry, tho I didn't understand some of the mechanics... like the numbers and how the other side loses/gains lives...

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Nice graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/ONV56vKkbDk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]