Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BIPOLAR

by CatOnMars - Jam Entry

BIPOLAR is a game about using only TWO buttons to control an abstract soul.
The goal of this game is to navigate through the "boss room". We suppose this game is a fun and challenging 2D-platformer.
Hope you enjoy it!

Control Scheme:

A , D: Press and hold to spin the L/R "fists".
Release while Spinning to launch the fist.
While fists attached, push A/D again to recall them.

Hope you enjoy it, we may made an post-jam version while the boss back to her duty.

#################################################################
We removed the WebGL version because it does not build correctly.
#################################################################

Credits:%
90% programming,30% level-building : @WASD
90% Level design,10% programming : @CatOnMars
100% Audio : @Ash


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#175Innovation(Jam)3.63
#186Theme(Jam)4.06
#418Audio(Jam)3.19
#450Graphics(Jam)3.58
#496Humor(Jam)2.67
#507Mood(Jam)3.22
#558Overall(Jam)3.28
#573Fun(Jam)3.09

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55am

The Game seems rather unfished :( Too bad, the graphics looks great, but the goal is rather unclear...

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:58am

Pretty awesome game, very cool use of the theme, and very stylish graphics.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:41am

It's a neat game but I'm not really sure what to do :0 I hope you work on this more, it looks really good and I think it could be really really great given some more time! :)

triello says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:32pm

I like the concept, like Tao's yin yang...

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Not sure what I am supposed to do, but it was an interesting take on grappling hooks, would be interesting to see where you take this!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Good style and concept!
Gameplay is fun but I came across a bug that make me fall forever:(

Polith Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Funny game, good concept

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Great entry. The way you use the theme is perfect and I like this minimalist aesthetic. Mood is quiet even when the level is hard. The music is beautiful. One of my favorites - five stars because you share the source code (jam entry) ++

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Pretty nice entry. The mechanic is kinda funny, but a bit slow to me. Graphics and music create a whole specific universe, I like it! :)

Cheers

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:31pm

I am sorry. I did an error - my previous critic was for another game. However your game is really cool. The big problem is in the movement. In fact, it is very hard to control anything because the physics doesn't allow us to decide a direction. We press a key and then we wait where the bullet is stopped. Not really controllable. Overall I like it ++

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Thanks for all your comments~
For those who don't know what to do, just treat this as a platformer: go to the boss room, and then you clear the game!

We'll share our source code, but not until we finish our post-jam version. Don't bait us, lol, please wait for a short time for the boss to come back. Gwehehe~

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:37pm

@Geckoo1337 Anyway, thanks for your comments lol.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Wow, that's a really interesting movement mechanic -- once I got the hang of it, I enjoyed playing around with it a lot. Great presentation too, from the audio to the visuals. Nice work!

elizeu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Great use for the theme! Good job

radmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:37am

Cool concept but pretty tough to control, got stuck near the second checkpoint - it was really hard to not swing into the spikes accidentally. With some more balance this could be awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]