Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Munch

by Leuthil - Jam Entry

You work at a food production facility but haven't eaten all day. Your boss leaves for 2 minutes so you take the opportunity to indulge and eat as much as you can. Production in this facility is not always perfect so be careful for hazards and mishaps!

A gamepad with two analog sticks is recommended for this game! (Seems like it might bug out if your controller is not turned on/connected before the game loads)
Only playable in Firefox with the Unity Web Player installed.

Controls:

​Move Left Hand - Left Analog Stick / WASD

Move Right Hand - Right Analog Stick / Arrow Keys

Grab Left Hand - Left Trigger / Left Bumper / Left Alt / Left ​Shift / Left ​Control

Grab Right Hand - Right Trigger / Right Bumper / Right Alt / Right Shift / Right Control

Grab Both Hands - Spacebar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#91Humor(Jam)3.73
#124Innovation(Jam)3.74
#278Fun(Jam)3.46
#337Overall(Jam)3.51
#457Graphics(Jam)3.57
#597Audio(Jam)2.75
#642Mood(Jam)3.06
#848Theme(Jam)3.21

Comments

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

haha you did a monster munch too :D. Fun game and clever concept. simple and complete. I enjoyed myself.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

I really like the game. The controls were abit difficult, but other than that, great! I also liked it when the lights turned off.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34am

neat idea arm controls are really cool

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36am

Hilarious! Lovin' the sound effects here. Movement is actually pretty cool. I also like how you have to crank the light for it to come back on.
Well done!

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57am

Fun and simple game. Loved the arm controls.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07pm

I thought the controls were a bit awkward (though granted, I didn't use a gamepad), but otherwise, I had a lot of fun with the game. I liked the different factory events as well. The only thing that bugged me is that if the game ends from eating a bomb, the game doesn't tell you your score.

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Omnomnom <3

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Simple funny game, maybe more food

AxeTheory says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:04am

133.6kg

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Great little game and I really liked the sound effects, I'm really hungry now :)

Hegemege says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:38pm

The controls werent too hard on the keyboard either, took me 20 seconds to figure out. Cute and simple game!

Dalkor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Love the creativity behind this idea. Fun and difficult. Well executed.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:23pm

"This is easy!" - me right before the lights went out and I dropped a bomb on my head! Surprisingly difficult for me to multitask, but great fun nonetheless - good job!:)

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Great take on the theme! Pretty fun.

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Really fun! Very difficult. I'm always bad at limb controlling games. Would have loved to hear more Sound FX and music, to flesh out the the game, but the "nom nom" was perfect.

teamvr says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:20am

nom nom... fun even with keyboard! Lights was a nice touch.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:53pm

nom nom, I love meat, especially when I'm a monster and stealing it from my boss. Great fun game.

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Nice game!
Idk if its an exploit, but you can simply hold one hand above your head and "throw" food into your mouth, by simply "clicking" the hand above the head. The other hand kann stay on the light generator/conveyor button ;)
Very nice work there!

nosfer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:51pm

controls work great, nice idea. sound could be better and also music could really add to the game humor :)

Bemmu says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:26am

Nicely different because of the joint controls and quite fun to play. According to our 4 year old, this was also a very funny game.

Could not get gamepad to work though.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:47am

NAM NAM! hahahahaha fun concept and great implementation!

dbr3d says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:53am

I love this concept! Keyboard controls are a mess for me. Production chain feeling it´s cool and i also like meat hook physics. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]