Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Low and Flow

by el_kloklo - Compo Entry

!!!WARNING!!! Sometimes the 2nd level bug, and for some reason that I still don't understand, the mommy stay stuck. If it happens, as the reset level button does not work, you need to refresh your browser to restart. Sorry for this.

First of all, I really didn't liked the theme, and thought a lot about aborting.
I've lost a lot of time messing with collision because I wanted to avoid to use character controller.
Anyway I like the ambiance I've managed to set up, even if I wanted to go deeper with teenage party and dating sim, but overscope is jam killer, hey.

About the control : W/X.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#298Humor2.77
#385Innovation3.31
#574Graphics2.93
#639Audio2.18
#664Theme3.50
#681Mood2.68
#835Overall2.77
#897Fun2.34

Comments

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02am

interesting concept, I like it

mahjong50 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:28pm

I really liked the concept of coming to age.

However it was unclear that I was the child and so it was difficult to understand what I had to do.
Also the controls were unclear in the first couple of scenes, so most of the time I was just touching myself trying to progress the game.

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:19pm

cool game, original game

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Nice concept! I also really like the mix between 2D and 3D. It is pretty long for an adventure game, too bad there wasn't really a puzzle to solve. Also the controls were a bit frustrating, but I guess that is the fault of the theme :)

p.s. Next time please make a WebGL build, so everybody can use their default browser ;)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:32pm

This was actually rather humorous. I think it's good you ended where you did because cycling between 7 different commands was getting a bit tedious. You've truly explored the extent to which this control scheme can go. I'd say max. 3-4 commands. Fun art style and novel idea.

Paco says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:56pm

LOL, great pun in the (game description's) first sentence : P

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:19pm

You have a very successful look for your game here. The controls were difficult but I liked the vast detail in each scene.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Pretty unique game, like the character art and the audio. One of my favorite entries this ludum dare.

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Cool idea. The growing part, of course. I really hate these controls.

DoppleDanger says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:22pm

The adult never came close enough for me to observe when I had to learn to walk. Only once when I was still reading the description. I reset the level and game a few times, and waited super long. :/

seems interesting though.

LudoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:26pm

really needs some polish, the objective isn't clear at all

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Nice game. The beginning was extremely funny, but I couldn't easily understand what I was supposed to do later.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:26pm

It was original. On my first try I was locked on 2nd level becasue the mom/dad was not there. I just restarted it and everything was ok then.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Good idea, but lacks detail, everything is too wooden

spotco says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Hmmmm the music is interesting. I found it a little distracting sometimes, and confusing in conjunction with the gameplay.
I like the concept/theme, it was more difficult to play and the two button controls, of course, was a challenge. But I got used to it and got pretty far!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:26pm

The sound effects and music were a bit distracting to me. I did like the concept and your take on the theme of growing up. I used the mouse since the controls seemed unnatural to me.

Shide says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I enjoy the writing in first scenes, kind of witty and a bit alienating lines. Enjoyable game with strange but interesting visual choices. Nice one :)

Wevel says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Interesting idea, the audio is slightly annoying and the two buttons seem to have been done to try to match the theme rather than to change gameplay

Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:47am

Interesting game! Good art, the 2 button controls are annoying.

Haha, I too have lost a lot of time messing with collision in Unity. And gravity, and raycasting, lol.

Alphish says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:58am

The concept itself seems interesting and somewhat original, but it's undermined by unnecessarily inconvenient controls . I'd rather prefer to just click on the action to perform, given there was already area to display all actions available. ^^"

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]