Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Drought

by Kep - Jam Entry

Place terrain and pools of water.
Harvest food from trees.
Beware droughts when pools do not appear.
Survive as long as you can.

Terrain that is next to water gets healthier.
Trees like to be on grass, but not deserts.
Sun magic grows plants, but evaporates pools.


Music: "Mirage" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/


Update Dec 15 - Bug fixes and balancing:
Trees no longer die if planted on a desert that is next to water.
Can play Suns on water.
Water is more visible at lower health.
Reduced Sun probability by 50%.
Droughts increase in duration by 2 every drought, up from 1.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#107Audio(Jam)3.83
#114Innovation(Jam)3.76
#118Mood(Jam)3.83
#282Overall(Jam)3.56
#321Fun(Jam)3.40
#360Graphics(Jam)3.72
#508Theme(Jam)3.68
#651Humor(Jam)2.40
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Pretty entertaining gameplay! I felt like it was really relaxing and great to zone out to.

vidarn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:51am

Took a little while to understand the mechanics, but once I did, I really enjoyed it. Might be a little bit too easy though?

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:39pm

The game does not have much of a difficulty curve, I was able to play for longer than seemed appropriate. The style is just awesome, the music blew my mind. You managed to create a really relaxing and unique mood (5/5). Awesome entry. (Played on a Galaxy S5)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Very original. I enjoyed it.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Pretty interesting simulator farmer, served with an unusually enjoyable gameplay. good job!

pontooncity says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Needs balancing, but nice little strategy game. Well done.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I didn't totally understand what I'm doing but the overall game seems good :)

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:48am

An excellent entry in terms of graphics/UI! It was really pleasant to interact with this game. Figuring out how the different tiles work was interesting too.

Like others said the downside is mostly the lack of balance: after 105 days I was nowhere near a shortage of food, and that includes the ~50 days of me discovering the mechanics.

Adding more difficulty and maybe tweaking the hand system for less randomness could have done wonders. Not saying it would be an easy task though - it reminds me of this post about the whole game design history of "Threes!": http://asherv.com/threes/threemails/

dx0ne says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:12am

Cold be fun on mobile with puzzle like levels.
Liked the music.

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Nice game, I like these kind of self-sustaining systems made into games.
Also nice, simple graphics and presentation.

The game could use a little more depth so. There is not much challenge, I played for 10 minutes and nothing much happened.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:08pm

We don't understand what's going on immediatly but the music is calm so we don't really care xD

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Great little game! I really got into it, and it has a good learning curve - 341 seconds on my first try.

bessdlan says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:18pm

quite relaxing game, i love it ^^

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:47am

This is really interesting, very boardgamey. I'm not sure i fully understand the mechanics of how the terrain evolves over time, nor the advantages of placing terrain yourself (if any), but i really enjoyed myself. Lasted 180 turns until i forgot to keep track of the hunger meter. Nice work!

Tosic says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:28pm

What an inetresting game I love the mood and grphics, amongst other things, of course :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]