Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Journey of a Ball

by guoboism - Compo Entry

Theme picked Two Button Control

The game is about how a ball return to its owner from some post-apocalyptic ruins.
But you do not control the ball, you control other things in the environment.
Each level you control different things.

Or simply put, a adventure game with pinball gameplay...

There is some end game cut scenes, so please try to beat the game:)

Controls:
Z and M
(R to reset the ball is struck somewhere unexpected)

V1.2:
Added two level, now 9
Add bonus message for each time
Adjust levels

V1.1:
Improved Graphics a bit

Compo Version:
7 Levels
Simple Ambient Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#29Mood4.12
#87Overall3.86
#103Innovation3.83
#106Graphics4.02
#124Fun3.69
#125Theme4.14
#127Audio3.55
#405Humor2.52

Comments

Gyfis says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Very nice little game! I like the fact that there were multiple two-button mechanics in one game, well done!

martincohen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30am

Controls felt a bit cheap, but I loved the level design.

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31am

Brilliant gameplay, and great visuals to boot!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38am

Bright idea to control the enviroment and nice mechanics. Good job!

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51am

The silhouette style looks good.

I found the first level a bit confusing. It took a while to realize that I had to aim the ball to the right of the screen... I thought it was just another wall.

Otherwise, I thought it was a really interesting puzzle game.

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02am

Very nice looking game. The animations at the beginning and end were great! Some good clever two button puzzles. Reminds me of NightSky :)

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20am

Wow!! Nice mechanics... I love the artwork!!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Nice take on the theme, and good graphical style.

I got stuck at the level with the rotating platforms, though - unless I'm missing something about the solution, they rotated too fast to actually line anything up.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59am

Really good job, Bruce. Great mood again, you're so good at the mood stuff. The water level was my favourite, very unique controls for that one.

The end was tense, but I think you missed a great opportunity. The kid should have kicked the ball over the fence again! I would cried laughing (I did just at the thought :P)

tGiant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Very clever game and very enjoyable.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33pm

This is a cool little game. Has lots of potential and a nice take on the two-button theme. Fun puzzle design and made me think of limbo (probably the graphic style :)). Great job!

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:10am

Really great work! I love the game mechanics!

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:13am

Kinda reminds me of World of Goo, with those hidden little messages and the cutscenes.

PlymouthJam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:32pm

The game was very fun and the art style was great. Got a little annoyed at the start though as the ball kept hitting the roof above the goal.

tobia88 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Nice idea and level design, atmosphere and pretty nice though, enjoying~

ZYXer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:22am

Nice puzzle game. I like the graphics and the background story. Giving a puzzle game a relateable story is a very good idea.

holgk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Very nice game.

smbe19 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:08am

Loved it!

huminaboz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Love the amount of level design you were able to produce in the given time period. The little story bits were a little off-track, extraneous. Five star for innovation.

scorched says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Interesting mix of pinball and platformer! Requiring two hands for just two buttons is a bit odd... Also in first level I got stuck near the exit (ball not moving on flat surface), and I'm not sure intended or not but the three girders rotate VERY quick!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Loved the Limbo style atmosphere of your game! Great mechanics too. The only thing I would change is the final animation to be playable.
You should release a mobile version and add more levels!

gelisam says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:46am

I did not rate the game because we're supposed to rate the Compo version, and unlike the Local web 1.2 version, the Compo version is only available for Windows.

Tanton-H2X says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:23am

Pretty Nice Game~ !
ths is amazing ,you really good at Narrative,also to build a great atmosphere.
only these shapes of the silhouette in background are special,more sharpen shape make me a little bit nervous...but not bad~ ^-^
btw,the final scene appeared two times~(in the case that i am not collect all the text.)not sure whether it is a bug~
Great Innovation ~

cppchriscpp says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:47am

That was honestly a very enjoyable little game. I'll definitely echo the comment that it reminds me of NightSky.

My only complaint is the audio skipped at the end of the track when looping sometimes. It was kind of jarring.

Overall though, awesome entry.

Wumbo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:23am

I absolutely loved the game. The story was excellent; I think it was delivered entirely without words, if I remember correctly, which is always difficult. I really liked how all of the levels were different, and I thought they were all really cool, though I do think you should be able to lose the last one if you crash the drone-thing. The only suggestion I have on difficulty is that the first level with the traditional pinball-style thing is a little too difficult for an intro; the first level should be something a monkey can pull off, and yours took me like 20 minutes because I kept shooting it too high. Oh, also the level where you are the elevator took a while to figure out how to do it, but that is expected as it is like halfway through the game, so you are probably fine there.

Music was pretty good, matched the art style and helped the mood. Excellent use of the one-color foreground. Great game!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:38am

This was great, I especially like how each level was basically its own 2 button game, and the fact that the story wraps up - I was very happy when I got to deliver the kids their ball back at the end. The definitely helped with mood.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]