Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hyper Hydra Havoc

by chunkybrewster - Compo Entry

Peasants are part of a balanced breakfast for young growing Hydras!

Eat peasants, grow heads!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#428Theme3.80
#571Innovation3.00
#653Audio2.09
#681Mood2.68
#723Fun2.80
#731Graphics2.60
#784Overall2.86

Comments

Teren says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12am

Had a bit of fun chomping on peasants :)
It could use a win/lose condition, but it's OK.

P.S. The LMB/RMB controls are mixed up (at least for me - Mac OS X + Chrome)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:42pm

@Teren thanks! And whoops, that is actually an error with the text. Insomnia apparently gives me copy text dyslexia. ;)

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47pm

The game was nicly done. But it lacked a challenge.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54pm

nice, funny game :)

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Love it.

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Good idea!
I would have liked bigger peasants, they seems small to me.
Overall really nice!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Liked your game, the way the head took turns was a nice touch.

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:56pm

It was fun to kill those poor innocent squares. It could be even more fun if it was a little bit more challenging, but good job ;)

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Cool concept! The hydra was a great central element, and I can see more being done with this. Would be cool to have some soliders or archers enter later to give it a win/lose condition and some more challenge, but still good nonetheless!

Also, Hail Hydra!

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Lack of a losing condition kinda ruined it for me. Decent idea though.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/rvwkTXA2Y10

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Kinda fun, but there's nothing much to do besides slamming their faces on little white dots.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Omnomnom, great message, so deep!)

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22pm

The idea and the game are fun but there isn't any chalenge.
It's still a good experience =)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:39pm

don't feel actually like a game, just because is not challenging, anyway i made an 8 heads hydra and enjoy it, the color combination was nice, the blood effect was nice too, good luck (Y)

Switchiers says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Lack of challenge but nice realisation!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:40am

Nice idea, but it lacks goal. Maybe the heads could eventually die from starvation or knights could attack the beast whenever one of its heads reaches the ground?

Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:46pm

@Blake_Lead oh I really like the idea of starvation! I was going to have knights and sickened peasants that would deal damage to the heads, but I had some strange issues on day two that only happened on web build that I really just spent way too much time on! I'm hoping to work on this soon and add some of these suggestion :) Thanks for playing everyone!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]