Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

bullet hell web game thingy (but really, it's a pretty ok game)

by peyj - Compo Entry

This is a web based simple bullet hell game. It's fun at least for a few minutes, so give it a try!!!

CONTROLS:
left/right: move
space: pause (this technically makes it a 3-button game, please don't kill me)

I made it mostly for myself, to see what I could do in JavaScript (a language I just learned).

Also feel free to check out the source code! It is like 290 lines of code and a bit messy, but I feel like I learned a lot doing this, so maybe you will too if you are new to JavaScript!

Also feel free to post a comment with your score, I'm really curious what's the average. :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#73Theme4.25
#191Fun3.58
#401Overall3.33
#441Innovation3.21
#675Graphics2.73
#749Mood2.53
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

It's fun. A bit simple, but nice. The pause button doesn't really do anything so I wouldn't count that, and good use of the growing theme too.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:49pm

A good entry. All it needs now is some music :P

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50pm

I think you did well with this. You seem to have a feeling for the game mechanics. You picked a concept with a small scope, and performed it well, spot on the theme. It was a bit too much shaking for my liking, a less intrusive shake would have worked better I think. But nevertheless, this was probably one of the most entertaining games I've played in this Ludum Dare. Well done :)

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Interesting idea, wasn't sure of the challenge. Has potential.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14am

Simple, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/LlS8bcKfkfQ

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25am

An interesting take on the bullet hell genre! The random shots are rather unfair, though.

Reisen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:22am

It's simple, minimalistic, pure fun. If anything, the distance is too short to really read and dodge the scatter shots.

You survived 60.98s.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Great game, some sfx/music would be awesome

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:43pm

44.63 seconds. Avoid dots, if you hit dots it makes the centre bigger, which hides dots for longer making them harder to avoid... Clever! Good loop there.

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:38am

It's a fun, simple, innovative way of incorporating both themes. Very little I can say to improve here. :) Good Luck!

makiki99 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Fits both themes, graphics are good, but IMO you used too much of a screen shake. It is a pretty fun game nonetheless.

nassi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Made it to just a bit over 70 seconds thanks to some easy patterns. As already mentioned the screenshake was way over the top and the random bullets pretty much impossible to dodge. Neat way of handling losing though.

canon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:51am

Nice simple bullet hell game! I like the radial concept for two-buttons, and the way damage "grows" the void is really cool also. Although, without instructions, I tried to collect all the dots first.

Acuity says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:09am

Definitely fits both themes, simple but clean game. I wish there was music with it!

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:34am

Nice work - it does feel like a stripped-down version of a classic bullet hell. Figuring out the various movement patterns is satisfying, but the random-spew segments feel pretty unfair - I couldn't figure out what to do there to avoid knocking half a dozen dots back at the center. Still, good concept and well executed.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:41am

Loved the originality! Very innovative! Fun game! I survived 51 seconds! c:

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]