Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rubber Ducky and the Trial of Clams

by pluberski - Compo Entry

Rubber Ducky goes through a series of tasks to learn. . . well, who really knows? I he filling out a form? Is he solving a math problem? Is he hanging up a painting! All of those, Ducky, and more!

This game is meant as a dialog between the ever-silent Rubber Ducky and his eccentric developer, all made to hopefully make you smile!

Some features:
- Lively dialog about clams

- Only two buttons for very varied tasks! (I guess you could also make an argument for the "growing" part of the jam too, but it wasn't my focus.)

- A bit of a branching story-line!


Note: If the game won't run and you're using Avast, try turning that off. I noticed on my own computer that it and Avast don't play well!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#23Humor3.98
#125Theme4.14
#159Fun3.63
#161Innovation3.71
#336Mood3.18
#352Overall3.39
#618Audio2.24
#779Graphics2.49

Comments

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41am

HAHAAA bizarre but fun! :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Funny little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/aHYNcWsg9Wg

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40pm

That was a bit too much reading for me.

Beep2Bleep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Fun, I got the clams back and then it seemed to freeze unsure if that was the end.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Funny and bizarre! Loved it!

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Hahah fun game!

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48pm

I love the little puzzles and the story.

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Great Game really enjoyed it!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Very innovative! A rule to every non educational game:
DON'T USE MATH! Do you like to solve math problems when you're having fun?

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Much innovation. Great work!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Haha, amazing! I got the feeling I was conversing with a psychopath, so good job creating atmosphere :) The tasks were fun and made me curious. The graphics could be better, as well as the sound, but the game was really enjoyable and very funny!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Bizarre and enjoyable! You establish a great, quirky feeling in your game, I like that.

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:55pm

What a weird little game, but it was pretty interesting and fun! I liked the writing and the little puzzles (even though they were very limited). I achieved three different endings, I don't know if there are any more.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05pm

This game was a lot of fun! I wasn't expecting to be entertained for that long.

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12pm

@Robin It sounds like you found all of them. :)

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:04pm

An interesting little game. Took me a bit to figure out I was suppose to be doing something with a black screen that just said "Ducky" but once I pressed a key it was pretty smooth sailing. Less talking and more puzzles and I think you have a decent little game.

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22pm

This would be really interesting tied to a Stanley Parable style plot - I really want to explore the depths of the psyche with ducky.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49pm

web version tries to download a zip, can't play in Firefox

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:10pm

@GeeItSomeLaldy Whoops, put the download link under the wrong header! :P Sorry!

Kronosaurus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Very very cool! Fun game, had an "Aha!" Moment with the blocks! Great job!

NuvlearGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34am

I really liked it. The idea was very interesting

Lee1121 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Had a great time playing your game :)

Skywilly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:40am

Funny ;)

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:38pm

A really fun game, would have liked it to be longer.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:11am

that was really fun!

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:59am

Very interesting. I like having the different tasks to do.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Hilarious. A strange approach of the theme, but why not :)
I like it - mood is great ++

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Another really fun take on the two button theme - so much different functions on two buttons :)
Full theme points!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Clever use of the two button theme and the dialogue was nicely written. Weird quirky duck fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]