Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Zolander Bebop

by ellipticaldoor - Jam Entry

Welcome to new the adventure of the space adventurer that can't turn to the left!

Good luck!! :D

Credits:

Daniel Blanco - @danielblanco3d
Celestino Gianotti - @CeleGianotti
Miguel Dorta - @ellipticaldoor

Music was taken from http://incompetech.com/

LD Theme: Two Buttons

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#383Humor(Jam)2.88
#435Graphics(Jam)3.61
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#746Innovation(Jam)2.78
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#848Fun(Jam)2.72
#863Theme(Jam)3.17
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38am

I like the graphics. The controls are really tricky to get used to though!

Troma says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:02pm

That jazz! I like it! (Not your's, I presume, but it does contribute to Zolander's Bebop mood)

Good color composition and camera movement. Minimalism is well used which is quite rare.

Could be a lot more fun if it wasn't for the controls. The use of one sided rotation is hard, which I understand it's the whole point of the game, but aiming with it is hideous! We have done similar mechanics, not the best choice as well. Check it out.

Well done!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Fun little game, the controls were a little hard to get used to :p
I liked the dynamic camera and the art style was cool :)

pcmaster says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Controlling it with 2 buttons was crazy and a bit imprecise but fun after all :) Nice graphics.

local minimum says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:54pm

The game had a good feel to it, and I played it to the end (3-4 tries before I got it). However, though the use of the theme was obvious, the game felt like fighting the controls. And not in a good way. Like the theme destroyed the quality of your game. The amount of enemies was also rather large with respect to how hard it was to steer the little character. I did enjoy the graphics a lot and those camera moves where really great. It did happen though that the camera went one way and the character another at some stages... and that would need to be fixed. So, I think the basic layout of the game, its stages, the hit and run type of dealings with an hostile alien world. I think all that could be a marvelous setting for a game like yours, just with more normal controls. A good entry though.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:10pm

The camera angles are cool, the graphics are pleasant as is the music. That's the good stuff.

The gameplay is silly in a bad way. I'm not sure if you have any "lore" justification for the space adventurer to only turn clockwise, but it shouldn't be down to the controls.

Many other entries have figured out novel ways to make two buttons count. Here's an example:
Button 1 - turn right
Button 2 - turn left
Hold down both buttons - move forward
Double tap button 1 - Dash right
Double tap button 2 - Dash left

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:15pm

@HuvaaKoodia That´s very claver!

Yep, I agree that the controls are very bad.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Good graphics and cameras, but you must improve mechanics.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:50pm

This was one of the strangest things I've played yet. Right on! I loved it!

I like the concept too-- purposefully difficult controls, autofire, waves of baddies.

If I'm not mistaken too I think theres a nod to cowboy bebop in here with that rad jazz music when the enemies come in.

My only complaint: the camera was a bit janky sometimes.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:26pm

@Weeping Rupee you totally nailed it ;)

Skywilly says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Great visuals ;)

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Amazing game. Really liked it.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Nice graphics and good point for the music following the action (or the inverse). It miss me some sounds when hitting enemies and being hit.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:40pm

It was silly but fun in it. So basically LD essence ;)

I like the crazy camera concept. Controls ofc could be polished.

CPau says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Hard to play but really good work for the mood!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Strange. Why this guy cannot turn to the left? I could be more interesting with another gameplay. However I liked aesthetic and enemies ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]