Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

EarthWard

by luke - Jam Entry

Earthward is a action shooter game in which you must defend your planet from waves of alien attacks.

Left Click - Shoot and Select Menu

Right Click - fuel costs and dash for one direction

Art by Rey: https://twitter.com/Reylisten
Prog by luuk: https://twitter.com/_mappache

----------------------------
Made with Otter2D [http://otter2d.com/]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#106Fun(Jam)3.75
#109Overall(Jam)3.84
#133Audio(Jam)3.78
#146Graphics(Jam)4.14
#274Mood(Jam)3.52
#278Humor(Jam)3.11
#463Theme(Jam)3.73
#646Innovation(Jam)2.95

Comments

Neoludo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04am

I really enjoyed the overall aesthetic of the game. The art was charming and the soundtrack suited it perfectly.

It 'felt' really good to play, with the jetpack controls being enjoyable the gun reasonably responsive. I also thought that the variety in enemies was pretty good, I especially enjoyed the shielded enemies. I liked having to worry about both your own health and the health of the Earth, that added a nice extra level of complexity.

All up, a really very impressive game for the short time in which it was made, I really enjoyed the time I spent in it.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01pm

very delightful)
responsiveness and aesthetic and fun)

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05pm

I enjoyed the game. Got harder as it progressed which I liked. Great use of the theme :)

xdigdoug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:47pm

I loved the constellations, and it seems like Mystery Inc. Ghost made a cameo. Fun game with great audio!

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Well rounded game. Enjoyed it. Love the music :) Also like the fact that you have fuel you need to worry about. During my first play through I didn't and got punished for it really quickly

angela says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Good game. Reminds me of Asteroids. I lolled at "you're homeless now." and "fuck the earth." Great music. Awesome graphics.

Fartenko says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09pm

I love it! Art is amazing and gameplay is addictive.
Well done! And Fuck the Earth ;D

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I really liked this game, the mouse controls felt nice (and would likely feel even nicer when not using a mousepad), and this game is really, REALLY impressive for 48 hours of work. The graphics and music are well made and charming. All around great job!

Davision says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Nice game with cool pixel style!
Some critic:
- Using rotating with the mouse as another control doesn't appear two button controls to me even though I would take it over any simplification.
- The fuel mechanic is rather annoying and doesn't add much. First I blew all my fuel and was left to only glide constantly in one direction til the end. Very slight auto recharge would have helped.
- The earth doesn't look much like earth, took me a bit that I have protect that blue planet over all the others, the enemies only going for that one gave it away though.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Very entertaining, easy on the eyes, and wonderful to hear. Great execution.

bakudas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:06pm

The art is so gorgeous and a really sweet gameplay. Pretty awesome game guys. Good job!

Tacohej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Love the graphics. Sound too! Playing with touchpad wasn't easy though :)

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Nice artwork!

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Impressive work for such a limited timeframe; really enjoyed the art, & the game felt pleasantly responsive.

fabulis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Ouah, nice game, I like it

rkhadder says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:43pm

I really enjoyed playing this game - great job

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:50pm

This game was really fun! The music and the graphics were great, and the gameplay was cool too! I think this is the best game I've seen on here so far :)

teamross says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:03pm

"Fuck the Earth" hah nice one.

Astounding graphics and music!

My only complain is the absolute ZERO friction. Yes, I know that's how the space works, but gameplay is real hard. Once you start to move around, you cannot stop!

Maybe holding for a little while makes you accelerate, and holding a bit in the inverse direction can make you stop?

Great job!

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Really good game. It feel great to play. The graphics looks awesome, especially the explosions!
The fuel mechanic can be a little frustating because you don't find enough item to regain it.
Anyway, great job!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Love the art, really cute! Enjoyed it a lot.

Volatile Dove says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:34pm

I really like the graphics! Also it's responsive and fun. One of my preffered games so far.

Minor flaws: the earth in not very distinguishable from the other planets. Also when no more fuel, the player is doomed.
And it could be better if the game was accelerating, faster and faster, would be even more entertaining.

wavegunner232 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:48pm

masterpiece

Hackbug says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Nice game, i love it :D

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:22am

The music & graphics are great, and the controls are nice. Running out of fuel and getting basically stranded kind of sucks but otherwise the gameplay is cool. Loved the "I'd rather not play again" message - won't spoil it here. xD

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:23pm

good game

koocachookies says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Very nice graphics and gameplay! Great sense of humor! Great work!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:26am

Loved the art, music and SFX.

What would look good is to make the map small and make it faster action paced.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:12pm

I enjoyed the gameplay mechanics of this game a lot.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Great Art! I love me some pixels!

Loved the game overall,I played a good dozen rounds before I came to rate/comment, I was never sure how much fuel I had left though - UI could have been clearer perhaps?

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:49am

This is a very neat concept-- wrapping screen, limited fuel, always in motion, something at the center to protect against waves of enemies. Excellent combination of mechanics very novel.

I loved the triforce in the constellations too.

My only suggestion would be to have a little box-y map to show you where you are when you cross the edge of teh screen because sometimes I was disoriented as to where the earth was but... maybe that was intentional?

Rodaja says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Lovely game. The Earth having different sprites for it's "health" is great (and not having a little bar for it, too).

Movement could've used some acceleration, allowing for more nuanced control.

Good job!

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Very nice, controls well, good art and catchy music! Well done!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:25pm

This is so good! Probably the best music I've heard in this jam. Great artwork, too, and the game is just really fun.

It's a little jarring when the character loops from one edge of the screen to the opposite site -- if you could make the background loop instead of the character, it would be less jarring.

Also, when I ran out of fuel, I just had to float around hoping to find more fuel, which was odd -- I'd either make it easier to refill fuel when you're out, or make it a game over when you're out. One solution might be to make it so shooting propels you slightly backwards.

Anyway, terrific work, congratulations!

vitorlanna says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:27am

Nice! And there's even a winning cutscene xD

mar3k says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:03pm

I love the art and the music, though quite unfortunate was that until those guys with deflector shield came I could have just sat at the spawn and not move at all, because the moving and not being able to stop makes it really hard to destroy the enemies. But nice game nonetheless.

TajamSoft says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Really cool game!
The pixel perfection in it is amazing

crucknuk says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Nice entry Graphics and audio are great! Just to let you know, the music was muted once I restarted after dying. Anyway, good job ;)

napoleon says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Awesome!

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Really fun game with lovely graphics and music. Mechanics were great and the controls easy to use, awesome game!

Solifuge says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:06am

I like the movement/aiming scheme; very Newtonian, how you kept drifting! Solid sprites and audio too, and some nice alien designs; did I catch a Day of the Tentacle reference in there?

For gameplay nitpicks, the UFOs seemed to leave a hitbox that could damage you after they were destroyed. Also, my fuel never really seemed to go down enough to need pickups or a fuel mechanic, but I might've been lucky with item drops.

This was a fun and very stylish game. Thanks for putting it together!

guoboism says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:23am

Nicely done! I love the pixel art!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:57am

Really cool game!
I love this aesthetic. Well done ++

Bering says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Nice art! Only problem I had was sometimes aiming. Having a white reticule would help. I had fun exploring around just looking at the planets and constellations in the background :-)

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Cool aesthetics,good job!

ViKing Games says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:09am

The graphics were all well-made and kept to a good style, and the music complemented its style very well. I found it interesting how you were able to get more use out of the fuel bar by making the end darker, nice idea. The only complaint I have about the graphics (although it's very minor) is how choppy the intro cutscene is compared to the rest of the game.

The controls worked very well and made good use of the theme. The enemies were interesting, especially how the shielded one could reflect shots back at the Earth. I would have liked to have an on-screen health bar for the Earth, since everything else was already there to see. I'm not sure why you chose to make a fuel bar at all, if you lose all your fuel it's incredibly hard to get it back, so you basically have to restart.

Jan 15, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/PXolvG1P7M4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]