Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Disassemble

by Tommislav - Compo Entry

With two newborn twin girls my time is stricly limited, and therefore I had decided to skip this Ludum Dare.

That was until I found out about the theme(s). I loved them both! And I had an idea that would be quick to implement... or so I thought.


Use Z for thrust and X to fire. Press them both to disassemble all the parts collected on your ship.

How far can you survive through the infinite number of enemy waves???



###########################
### NOTE ON WEBGL-BUILD ###
---------------------------
The game freezes during the
first enemy wave, sometimes
for as much as 10 seconds!
Just wait a bit and it will
run as intended.
I am looking into it.
###########################

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Innovation4.13
#48Theme4.33
#97Fun3.77
#149Overall3.71
#475Graphics3.09
#511Mood2.92
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:15pm

The WebGL version freezes after like 6s of gameplay. Could you fix that pls? (Windows 10, 64b, Chrome)

knason says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Really fun and addictive game! I loved the tutorial sketch it looked really nice. The game felt complete. Great job!

Tommislav says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19pm

@Gyfis: The game freezes for me as well. But only once, and sometimes for up to 10 seconds. If you wait it out it will run as intended. The problem does not exist in web player.
I'm looking looking into it, but until I find the solution it is playable but annoying.

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Liked this one a lot! The game is very well done at its core and fun to play!

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42pm

The game freezes for me too, btw cool game :p

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:43pm

awesome, very creative and entertaining, well done

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Really cool. Love the idea and the implememntation, wish it had some sound though.

Lim3s says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Love the concept, and managing your ship's size is super interesting. I think the initial levels (which I assume aren't randomly generated) were more fun than the generated ones because they gave more of a consistent challenge. Still very fun!

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:47pm

overall great game, cool concept, it has potential. i found the choice of the keys a bit odd though, not very ergonomic.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:25am

Fun, very innovative and had me playing for a while :)

ryandali says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39am

Fun game, movement up and down is tough to control which feels a little frustrating when it's so tied to aiming, maybe have holding down the button slow the fall speed or something?

Disassembling and assembling mechanic is great.

NoOneJeremy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20am

I loved the idea and the mechanics, really interesting. Altough, in my opinion, the 2 buttons got the gameplay really frustrating. Keep up the awesome work!

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:43am

Really cool concept, but it felt like the game was too slow and made it feel a bit boring to me.

TheMessiah says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Really cool and innovative mechanic. Only real problem I had with the game was that it was too easy to accidentally eject all parts.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Amazing!!!

mahjong50 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:26pm

I think this is an amazing game concept and would defenitly want to try it again with more then two controls ;p

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Awesome game, great use of both themes!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Really nice concept imo, audio and an advantage to being big would be cool.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Cool game, with a really interesting and innovative concept. Great job!

Logicon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Loved the game. Great idea

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Really good and addictive - creative. It could be improved with a frenetic music - maybe dubstep style. Overall, I like it. Well done ++

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Very cool and unique gameplay. The sound is also amazing! Please don't use x and z as playing keys.
Congrats for you cool entry!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:20am

Really fun idea. It was sweet to get a giant and crazy-looking ship.

thristhart says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:19am

I love the concept and it's really well executed! It was fun to make constant decisions between firepower and ability to dodge. I feel like this was unfortunately restricted by the two button controls - it could be even better with a more fluid movement system. If you do a post compo version I would suggest dropping the two button controls limitation.

Love it!

acotis says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:34am

Nice! I worked on Linux with WINE, and ran smoothly. I like the mechanics and the tutorial & "fuel" animation, though I would have appreciated a bit more detail in the drawing, or some music :P

jackrugile says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:28am

Such a cool concept! I'ld love to hear it with sound. Nice job!

Jwatt says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:01am

One of my favorite concepts so far. And you've done a lot with it.

Objects with varying uses increasing your hitbox, making it a risk/reward thing to capture new weapons. Then you think that's subverted with dummy objects, except dissassembly is basically a bomb attack no matter what you had attached. And there's a bunch of enemy patterns relating to your configurations, testing your understanding of the possibilities in various ways.

The one gameplay quirk in the current execution is that the player's movement isn't symmetric - going up is way faster than coming down.

Madly wanting to see this become a more polished little experimental game. This leaves you hungry to see the full potential, like a bunch of new enemies/blocks for all sorts of combinatorial effects. And of course you could slap some fancy graphics/audio on top while you're at it. Stay in touch with the community about this.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:14am

Great idea and execution! Only problem I had was that I would disassemble by accident a lot because I wanted to shoot and thrust at the same time.

AsixJin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:42pm

A very nicely down compo entry!

Herzucco says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Simple, fun and addictive !

Dege says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 7:06pm

+++ Solid gameplay, nice!
++ Great idea, fantastic use of theme.
+ Well balanced.
- Controls (1), can't get confortable with them. I'd used up for thrust and spacebar for fire, something like that.
- Controls (2), I involuntary disassemble the ship too often. I'd used long-press of keys to do it, so you will not accidentally do it while tapping furiously :)

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:05pm

I was really wishing there was music or sound effects, that would've really helped the mood as well as gameplay of the game.

dreadzilla says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:45pm

I like the idea a lot!

I would like to be able to not accidentally break up my grown starship all the time. :) Maybe add a delay when double pressing, before it disassembles?

It was also a bit hard to control the flying.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]