Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Void

by bakudas - Jam Entry

A two buttons top-down puzzle with linear progress. A spiritual successor to our previous developed game called Into the Void (http://globalgamejam.org/2015/games/void-0).

In The Void, you should help our introvert - and charismatic - divine-deity'ish protagonist to advance through different levels while trying to figure what really drives it towards its objective (and what is it all about to begin with).

Right Mouse - moving around/dash
Left Mouse - power menu/subcommands

--

We used Construc 2 for the game engine, chiptone for sound, Thiago Adamo soundtracks and somes sfx for the ambience, Aseprite for pixel art, illustrator and photoshop as well.

Hope you enjoy it !
Have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#182Audio(Jam)3.61
#299Mood(Jam)3.48
#427Graphics(Jam)3.62
#456Innovation(Jam)3.22
#500Overall(Jam)3.34
#515Fun(Jam)3.16
#604Humor(Jam)2.50
#626Theme(Jam)3.56

Comments

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Great mood, awesome execution and good gameplay

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

A well polished puzzle.
Void's soundtrack is pretty nice. I like the way you pulled together a percussion and the whole "void mood".

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Cool little game! I wish I could see more of the screen sometimes though because I often rammed into stuff that I couldn't see beforehand.

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:49am

great gameplay, love the visual and graphic
but i hope the control a lil more responsive, if i release the mouse click, it take sometimes for the object to move
if it much more instantaneous will be awesome, IMHO

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:55am

I like the art style and sounds. sometimes dragging did not work as expected for me, but it might be because I played with touch pad instead of a mouse.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Tutorial bugged out on me when I got to the hourglass (although I still somehow managed to finish it), but overall very well done!

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Great feel/mood. Controls were a little difficult though, I continually had to re-drag my mouse to get the guy to move. Great job!

GogglesKitty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Great concept, but it feels weird to have such a long delay after releasing the mouse and makes it kind of hard to dodge things. Overall pretty good!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:36pm

pretty neat! the controls felt weird though. and if the theme you were going for was 'two button controls', only 1 button is used so..
otherwise i like it!

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:40pm

I noticed the arrow kept getting locked once I got to the first zoom out area, not sure if that was intentional but I feel like that effected the controls in a negative way. The concept is cool, the art and music are really nice and the sound effects and player feedback when you hit the pickups are excellent. Pretty great effort overall!

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:42pm

An interesting little game; the click-and-drag controls weren't too satisfying for me (I couldn't seem to get any movement less than full-strength, so wasn't sure why it wasn't just click-in-a-direction), but otherwise it seemed quite good.

mikoĊ‚ak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Well polished, like it how the level grows out.

piper82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:46pm

very very nice. that prologue was amazing. if only controls were more responsive. music was great.

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Really like the aesthetic of the game and the mechanics are fun and interesting. I have to say the movement felt a bit sudden/too fast for me.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Nice entry. I wish mouvements could be more responsive. I also managed to finish the game without growing because it was easier to avoid traps this way xD. I like the mood and graphics. Good job ;)

Dege says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:42pm

I loved graphics and music, among the best I've seen. Unfortunately (as other have pointed out), controls ruin the experience for me. IMHO they're not intuitive, and feels a little laggy.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Great little game. I like the art and sounds. Well done !

Pilly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:55pm

I actually liked the delay, it was unexpected and made me think more carefully about timing, which I liked. Unfortunately, the rotation stopped working after I grew bigger, which made it difficult to control.

Love the style and mood - and points for the sound effects, you game shows how important good sound effects can be. Nice work!

Also, consider linking to this page from your itch.io page - I found your game via the itch app and had to google it to leave a rating :)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:08pm

I found the drag controls a bit unresponsive, and ended up getting hit a few times because it didn't do what I expected. Other than that it was a cool game with a really nice mood, the graphics and audio worked nicely together

Skywilly says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:26pm

I love the "Katamari Damacy" idea, in 2D. it's a great game, i hope you can make a "long" version.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:17pm

This game looks great and smooth and everything but the dragging seems a little unpredictable. Like, sometimes I could curb the momentum and bring the arrow only a little bit out but i couldn't figure out how to do it consistently. Fix the dragging and you have a real winner here-- it looks beautiful.

vitorlanna says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:19am

Studio Vaca Roxa, ha, that's a great name xD Anyway, controls were a bit hard to operate - the delay after releasing and the unpredictable bouncing. I did like the concept of you growing and all, and the introduction text in the beginning was nice, if a bit long.

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Looks like a good entry, but too buggy. Controls are very sloppy, protagonist makes few movements some time after clicking (instead of just one right after), sometimes going through walls. I ended up trapped in out-of-map area.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]