Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Duality

by cxsquared - Compo Entry

Duality is a rhythm game with a bullet hell twist. I'm pretty happy with how it turned out. There's no lose condition so the only goal is to see how high of a score you can get. I really tried to add a bit of polish to is and I think I did a decent job. I mainly use the two button controls theme but tried to incorporate growth into a difficulty mechanic. My highest score is a 926 (but that's after like 12 hours of testing it over and over). I'm interested to see how well others can do.

I recommend that you use a mouse.

Feedback is always welcome.

Made using Haxe and HaxeFlixel.
Art done in Photoshop/Illustrator.
Music/Sfx done in Ableton Live.

Edit: You can play an easier post jam version on Game Jolt.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio4.38
#484Theme3.73
#525Innovation3.10
#526Graphics3.00
#538Mood2.89
#709Overall2.97
#757Fun2.73
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:16am

pretty good game, though its not my cup of tea. but its interesting

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:16am

Its really hard sometimes to do a click...
The sphere just goes away in like half a second or something, sometimes.

But still nice work... Not bad! :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:21am

The game felt like it was too slow to start. Without any indication of a win or lose condition it felt confusing. Some of the ideas were cool, but I feel that there were a few things missing when it all came together.

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17am

I liked the music! It's a little confusing at the start (I never really got the blue AND red buttons?), and some earlier indicators of where the buttons will appear would make it feel a little more fair. It's a good start :)
The game reminds me of OSU; you might want to take a look at it to see what it does too.

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:53am

Nice pacing. I guess I need a better mouse to get better scores. No, it is excuse. Just need a better player here. Lol.

emmes says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:54am

Nice graphics, great music; flash player does have it's issues (clicking outside the area by accident -> freeze).

Cool game!

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56am

Fun, but I agree with the others. Might have been better if you gave some lookahead. Most rhythm games I've plays have give the player indication of what is to come, so they can both perform the action that's required immediately, and mentally prepare for the next action. Think the "note highway" in Guitar Hero/Rock Band.

Fervir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:30pm

I really enjoyed the game and the music.
The way the circles disappear quickly and the fact that you don't have any idea where they will appear makes this game focus more on, reflexes and pattern recognition/memorization.
That boss mechanic was pretty awesome though, that was a really interesting twist

lekochen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Nice music and good gameplay. It's fun to play but sometimes the ball disappears too fast.

et1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Didn't understand that you have to actually click inside the circles at first. I would echo other people's comments. One idea to easily improve the game: display the circles as two concentric circles, one slowly growing and the other remaining a constant size. The goal would be to click the circle at the exact moment they reach the same size.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17am

926? I only got 323. The only thing that held this back for me was the difficulty of get the the clicks in time. maybe just leaving them on screen a little longer would have helped? Also I almost moved early because I thought I'd seen all there way to see, but thankfully stuck around long enough to see the bullet hell part start. Very inventive!

SirSoltex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16am

after the loading screen it goes to a black screen and nothing happens :/

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47pm

So you made a rhythm game too! Pretty nice :) I wasn't expecting this at all when I launched it! I'm a great fan of Ouendan so it's my cup of tea ^^ However it's pretty hard, the sphere leave as quickly as they appear. In Ouendan for example, there's a circle that comes in advance which indicates the location of the sphere. Here, we can't really expect anything and it's more a game of reflex than rhythm. If you could just fix that, it could be marvellous! Especially as graphics are cute and music is awesome, and the shooter part is really surprising!
Anyway.. really great work! :D

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Concept is solid! Graphics are really cool but i was expecting a more linear difficulty

cxsquared says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Thanks for all the great feedback. I guess after 12 hours of playing it over and over I didn't realize how hard I had made it.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Super challenging game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/HyS0oGo3sGY

Dalkor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07am

Looks great. Love the music. Quite difficult, mind you I'm trying to use a track-pad on a laptop.

ambocclusion says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:18am

After a while, I realized that my touchpad treats left+right click as middle click, which was why I couldn't hit any of the "both" circles. I found a workaround though.

Neat idea. As other have mentioned, it needs some kind of predictability element.

Bullet hell at the end was an interesting twist, but it's hard to manage it while trying to click circles ASAP. Perhaps consider syncing the bullet patterns to the music and the circle positions? It might make the bullets more manageable--but it also might defeat the bullet-hell spirit. I have faith that there's a way to sync rhythm and bullet hell properly. Interesting concept regardless :)

You mentioned a growth mechanic, and I noticed the player size changes. Not sure how it worked though, I figure it's tied to score, but I was tiny in the end despite having a score over 100. Perhaps standards increase as the game goes on? I figure having a bigger cursor would make circles easier to click though (which would be nice in general).

On my most recent attempt of many, I got 113.

Great music and timings. Well done!

dvdfu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Really loved the track! Gameplay is simple and addicting, good job! If I had to make a suggestion, maybe add a longer head's up of upcoming targets to press.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]