Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

HP or Money

by uchiro - Jam Entry

Description:
This is very little strategy, has been written on the last evening LD34. The two empires fighting for the small piece of land and you witness this battle. Airships fly from island to island and capture them.

Instruction:
When the airship flying island he brings money and increases the himself HP. Over the island has two buttons:
1) "HP" increases the growth of HP when the airship will fly this island. Cost is 1000. Gain is +1.
2) "Money" increases the gain of money. Cost is 5000. Gain is +100.

Improve profits from the islands and capture the last island of the enemy. To capture the last enemy island, 20 airships have to fly to him.

In the battle wins the airship with a large HP. His HP is reduced by the number of enemy HP. Initially, all of the airship 10 HP.

Controls:
WASD or arrows - camera movement
Left mouse button - to click on button over the island

P.S I fixed button in Post-Jam version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#580Graphics(Jam)3.32
#790Theme(Jam)3.32
#847Humor(Jam)1.67
#870Overall(Jam)2.90
#956Mood(Jam)2.37
#966Innovation(Jam)2.32
#1044Fun(Jam)2.27
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

doitle says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Whatever this game is intended to do, it looks cool. It didn't seem like right clicking anywhere did anything. I just moved around and watched the zeppelins spread and take over things for a while. Sort of an interactive screensaver. What is supposed to happen when you right click on one of the islands?

blurryroots says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:47pm

I really liked the cartoonish look but I had a had time figuring out what I'm supposed to do. Took me a couple of restarts xD After that I grew quite fond of the simplistic mechanics. Also I think the sound effects are a bit too loud.
Great entry anyways ;)

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:36am

I didn't really understand what was going on while playing. Perhaps an interactive or in-game tutorial would really help, because I just wasn't understanding. Also, your instructions written on the page don't see to be accurate, as right click did nothing for me.

JaytleBee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:44pm

I like the genre and general idea, but you should have gone for worse graphics and a bit more depth. I know better than anyone that you can't expect an LD game to be perfect, but an AI that's a real threat would have been great.

uchiro says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:51am

Thank you all for your feedback. I added a instruction in the description. I hope this helps.
@JaytleBee We had only 5 hours. I do not have time to do AI.
@blurryroots Thanks for taking the time to understand.

TreePunchers says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:51am

Cute little game! For anyone confused about controls, left mouse button is to buy buildings, not right.

uchiro says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:59am

@TreePunchers Thank you, I saw the typo.

Spencer Alves says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:05am

Cute! Much easier than many of the other strategy game entries ;) . I had a difficult time pushing the buttons above the islands sometimes, though. Like, the button would highlight, but not play a sound.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:27am

I really like the music. The game could be interesting, but currently with two buttons it feels like there are too little options. Also sometimes the buttons just will not react.

uchiro says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:08pm

@gebirgsbaerbel I fixed button in Post-Jam version. It is already on itch.io.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Nice game, especially enjoyed the music. It is quite easy though.

Weloxux says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:00pm

It took me a while to understand what was going on, but when I got it, it was actually pretty fun. Good job!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Nice idea, it'd be cool to see it taken further with a larger variety of upgrades and such.

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:58am

nice base for a game :) I love the audio !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]