Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Crooked Town

by TeamEagle - Jam Entry

Welcome to Crooked Town, where women give birth in seconds instead of months. Get them to the hospital as fast as you can! But have you, uhm... seen the roads?

HOW TO PLAY
arrow keys - accelerate / turn / decelerate
r - restart
escape - quit

TEAM EAGLE IS (THIS TIME)
Programming - TurtleBlaze, Benjamin de Jager (@m0rph3v5)
Art/Programming - Fedor Jutte (@fejuto)
Music/SFX - Ashton Morris (@ashtonmorris)

TOOLS
Unity
Maya
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#36Fun(Jam)4.04
#52Humor(Jam)3.93
#92Audio(Jam)3.91
#143Overall(Jam)3.77
#231Mood(Jam)3.59
#292Graphics(Jam)3.84
#521Innovation(Jam)3.13
#1044Theme(Jam)2.51

Comments

Bemmu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44am

My time was 2:21

Had a lot of time playing this. I wonder if you generated the city procedurally? Physics is fun! Nice sense of urgency, too. All those trees and other pushable objects made it feel like a big rich world, you even got some car AI in there.

Great music too, impressive that you had the time to both compose that and make the game. Did you make the baby crying sample, was that you or an actual baby? :)

_Rilem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:26am

Really fun and humorous game guys! :) The car physics feel great and are lot's of fun to drive around with. There was one instance where I drove over a woman and she fell through the floor though. Then I got stuck. :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07pm

That is a really good game!

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:08pm

reminds me of my hometown roads :) fun stuff

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Nice!

Andrew Patton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Super fun!

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Its very fun i love physics related games!

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Fun game. I actually finished it which is unusual for me and game jam entries.

If you are continuing development I would suggest sectioning off the areas of the world. I found that the easiest way to play was to pretty much drive in a straight line and avoiding the roads.It made it far less of a challenge and no real risk of any kind of fail state.

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Awesome! I had a lot of fun playing this :D

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02pm

This game was very fun to play. I really enjoyed playing it

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:15am

Really enjoyed the music and barreling through trees. Good job!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Good physics and theme! The map had to many sharp edges that made the driving troublesome

banana4life says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:44pm

A bit buggy at times but awesome game.

Chewie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:47pm

It's hilarious =D

Tacohej says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:51pm

So much fun! I do think the theme is a bit weak, but I don't care, because I had a blast

mikoĊ‚ak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:53pm

"Direct delivery to the 8th floor maternity ward!"

realbogart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:53pm

I made it! Really fun game! Catchy music

yhsper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Incredibly fun and pretty! I was kinda expecting the car to accelerate itself, thanks to the "two buttons" theme, but you guys were merciful on us! ;)

Dege says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Loved the art (I love low poly, hope it'll became as popular as pixel-art), and the music, wow! Really fun. "Hey little pregnant lady, what are you doing in the woods?!?", ahahah.


Jokes aside, the most difficult part is picking up women: they do not "snap" it when they should, and I found one on a roof, maybe you need to check where they spawn. I get the theme, but it's a little weak.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Aww lovely, you peeps <3 Graphics, gameplay, everything is polished and as it should be. Am I the only one who sees the sexism in having specifically only women being thrown around for fun? Women's bodies already ridiculed and thought of as disposable in every single part of the world (except maybe some of sweden?)

It made me cringe after I hit the first woman with my car, while carrying another one.

Why not patients of any gender? What's specifically funny about being fat and pregnant?

Sorry to spoil the mood! It really is great in every other way

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Really fun little game; the car had just the right amount of feedback, & felt satisfying to bounce around the environment. Only one minor criticism: Sometimes it felt like the woman-collection mechanism didn't always work reliably, but otherwise excellent.

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Cool game but I would like more traffic on the roads to make it more interesting

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Fun game. A surprisingly expansive game area considering the time limit. Enjoyed the various physics effects, especially knocking trees out of the way. There's something satisfying about that considering how many video game trees in general tend to stop cars dead in their tracks. Great soundtrack too!

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Really great entry! I loved the gameplay and the graphics, the game was quite funny. Overall, amazing entry! The only I didn't like, was my car flipped, and it got stuck upside down.

jcsirron says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:18pm

What a wonderfully broken world. I noticed that half of the other cars in-game did the same thing I did and said, "Screw this broken road system, knocking down trees is easier!" I had a preggers lady start on top of a roof, amusingly. Good Work!

camlang says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Really nice to just drive, forget those moms)

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:50am

Haha. Wow.

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Nice music and style, but I couldn't do anything useful to the pregnant women there

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:53am

Excellently put together game. Everything fit together nicely - from the music to the gameplay.

One thing I think could be improved is the driving. It was rather frustrating to get to a lot of places as my wheels were so small it made getting on to an incline a challenge in and of itself.

Other than that, this was an amazing well-polished game. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]