Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Streamline

by francoisvn - Compo Entry

Grow your line to reach the goal. With 24 puzzles, containing a variety of mechanics, this should keep you busy for a while.

There is also a post-jam version available if you want more to play. The post-jam version currently has an infinite mode, with more features coming soon...

Twitter: @francoisvn
Website: http://clockworkacorn.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#4Fun4.31
#8Overall4.31
#47Innovation4.02
#99Graphics4.05
#148Audio3.47
#154Mood3.52
#519Humor2.31
#755Theme3.34

Comments

Teren says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:07am

Got stuck on levels 15 & 19 for a while :) Liked the sokoban-ish vibe ;)

ianh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:44am

Clever puzzle mechanics! I had fun all the way through.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:43pm

This game is sooo stylish. Love the swooshing line animations, the organic sounds -- especially that bucket sound when you fall in a hole, or the ratcheting gear sound when you rewind. Well paced introduction of mechanics too. Made it all the way to the end! Very fun.

anissen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Take a good old, well-known mechanic. Sprinkle some new ideas. Then add two or three large buckets of polish. Wow, the finish and effortless-ness of the execution really brings this game out. Excellent work :)

jward says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Clever puzzler with slick graphics and ui, really well done!

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:00am

Finished all levels. Some vexed me for a few minutes, but then I got it. Nicely done!

I can see it would work great on mobile.

Managore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47am

A really lovely blend of snake and blocks-slide-until-they-hit-a-wall! Very fun! The style is really crisp, though maybe the special blocks could use different symbols to help differentiate them. I also found the sound effects a little repetitive and would have loved to see the pitch altered or a pool of sound effects used for movement, but this is a minor complaint!

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21am

Very cool game, minimalist graphics and sound suit it very well. Just when it started getting repetitive a new mechanic is introduced which makes it fresh again. Very well-made and well-paced.

Good luck!

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Wow dude, make it as a mobile game, you'll be rich, the gameplay is really interresting, and offer so many possibility :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Dude! Ship it! Fantastic concept and execution, the little subtle bits of juice are fantastic. Really really cool!

Are the levels procedural or hand-made?

Fantastic fantastic. The extra mechanics are great. Love it :)

francoisvn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Thanks for all the kind comments everyone :)

The levels are hand-made. If you double-click on a level number you'll open the editor, but beware: it wasn't made for outside consumption ;)

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:53am

This is a pure gem. Ship it on the app store / android store before someone else does! Lovely animations, simple yet clever puzzles, great execution. I hope you end up in the top 20 so that more people can play this. Congrats!

Valandre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Very good entry, solid and clever gameplay!

Agram says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Great puzzling, good realisation, smart riddles.

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Awesome game! really like it. concerns I have have been mentioned in previous comments. Good job though!

g12345 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:47pm

I really like the game, even if I finished it quite quickly.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:53am

Nice game. Enjoyed this

felixreeve says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:57am

Loved this, worked great on my phone, played through twice and would love to see it expanded upon! Great level of polish too!

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Utterly brilliant. Definitely one of the most, if not THE most, "sellable" LD34 games I've seen.

davidB says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Awesome, well polished (level design and progression, sound, animation, helper, timing, installation).
Super user feedback.

Superbe job (I guess I never gave so many star to a LD compo)

Eduardo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Well polished and i like the mechanics variety. Good job!

Husky says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:59pm

This is great! I just went thought all the stages, love your puzzles, they are so graceful and challenging!
Good job!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Managed to beat every level and man that was a good puzzle game, solid controls and animations. Not sure how you puzzled it off on the Android version but that was a really good game to beat.

francoisvn says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:18am

For those that want more Streamline: I have released a new post-jam build with infinite procedurally-generated levels. Follow the link above and access infinite mode: exit to the menu (top-left button) and select the last level.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Great game! At first, I was like.. "this is pretty but the puzzles are way too easy!" But then you started introducing more and more mechanics and things started to get harder and harder.. gently ratcheting things up!

Normally I would say add some music, but I don't think music would really work well here.. I like the silence punctuated by the swipes and swishes as I zoom along.

Great game, I hope you publish it (especially on mobile!)

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Fun game ^_^, the audio gets repetitive really fast though! I'd suggest just randomly pitching it and finding a different one for the level changing or something :)

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Awesome

Dan Norder says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:39pm

This is where simple helps you - great effort all around! First compo game I've seen that looks like a real game.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Simple looking, but really nicely made. Lovely graphics. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XwDbETpIdpU

Aurel Bílý says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:41am

Nice. The only thing that I worry about with this sort of games is the fact that some levels are beatable in a trivial way, probably not the way the author intended. Like in a couple of levels with the pink / blue tiles I could get to the exit without having to worry about them. But oh well, 24 increasingly challenging levels is a good number :)

Tselmek says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Awesomely polished entry, I love puzzle games with a minimalistic style so you got me there. Great mobile game material as well. The level design is well done and the feedbacks are really cool. The easy and quick undo makes the game way more enjoyable. Good job.

MorganLeFay says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Wow, this is a really awesome game! I got stuck at level 22 but enjoyed it a lot until that point. I'm giving it another try when I have more time =)

UncleChris says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:01pm

I really enjoyed the game, the mechanic is simple, and very easy to get into a flow. The sound was perfect, and not overly much. Very good game.

NuSan says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Prety good levels. I like how they play fully on your mechanism (leaving a trail, red/blue/black square). I give up at level 17 but that was fun. Keep up the good work !

StaNov says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Clean, clever, just great. The theme could be more engaged. And some song in background would be nice too :)

01010111 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:36pm

One of my favorite games this LD! I've played several times, and I'm still enamored by it. Really great work! I wonder if you could write an algorithm that plays it backwards or something to generate more levels? I want to play hundreds of them!

francoisvn says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 9:16am

Thank you for all the kind words and great feedback. I'm busy working on updates to Streamline when I have time; there's already an updated post-jam version with procedurally-generated levels, and there should be more new features coming soon. Follow me on twitter (@francoisvn) or my itch.io page (http://francoisvn.itch.io/streamline) for the latest updates

jerombd says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Rrrreally well-made! It could be a hit on mobile store IMHO.

dyguests says ...
Jan 22, 2016 @ 7:47am

more mode!!!. great!!!.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]