Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Biome

by dreamlogician - Jam Entry

Biome is a turn-based strategy game for two players based on Conway's Game of Life (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conway's_Game_of_Life).

The game is played on a grid with empty spaces (white tiles) and blooming spaces (green tiles). Each player controls a set of geomancers (red/blue circles) that can manipulate the terrain around them.

If a geomancer is standing on a tile when it blooms, the geomancer goes "KABLOOM!" and is removed from the game. You win by eliminating all of your opponent's geomancers.


[Controls]

- Click on a geomancer unit to select it.

- Use the arrow keys (or WASD) to move a selected unit. Each unit can only move a limited number of spaces per turn.

- After you have moved a unit, click on the highlighted tiles to flip them. Each unit can only flip a limited number of tiles per turn.

- While moving a unit, click outside the grid to end the movement phase early and switch into flipping mode.

- Deselect all units and click outside the grid to end your turn early.


[More Info]

- At the beginning of your turn, all your units will level up. A unit's current level is indicated by the number of dots on it.

- A unit's level determines the number of tiles it can move, and its range of influence.

- A unit can only flip tiles within its range of influence, and it *can't* flip tiles that are inside the range of an enemy unit.

- At the end of each turn, the "Game of Life" rules will be applied to the grid X times, where X is equal to the combined levels of all units in the game. See the next section for details.

- Green tiles block movement, and can be used to create walls.

- The tiles with a tiny dot in the middle are spawners. To capture a spawner, it must be within range of one of your units and *not* inside the range of any enemy units.

- At the beginning of each turn, a spawner will generate a new unit for the player that controls it. Spawners will not generate a unit if they are occupied or blooming.


[Game of Life Rules]

- An empty tile will only bloom if exactly 3 of its neighboring tiles are blooming.

- A blooming tile will only remain in bloom if 2 or 3 of its neighboring tiles are blooming.


[Game of Life Reference]

http://www.bitstorm.org/gameoflife/

http://pmav.eu/stuff/javascript-game-of-life-v3.1.1/

http://natureofcode.com/book/chapter-7-cellular-automata/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#43Innovation(Jam)4.00
#566Theme(Jam)3.62
#660Overall(Jam)3.17
#854Fun(Jam)2.71

Comments

csanyk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:36am

Really cool way to adapt Life to a playable game. This feels like it could be as deep as Go, but way harder due to the difficulty of humans predicting Life patterns without a tremendous amount of thought and planning.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:59am

I liked it but it's too hard to create sellf-moving pattern that targets enemy geomancers (or probably boimancers).

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:55pm

I really like Conway's Life, but I find the inherent behaviour too difficult to hold in our brains. I've experimented with CGoL but never created something playable that is not difficult.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Definitely needs some sort of indicator to let you know whose turn it is but I absolutely loved the use of Conway's Game of Life as part of the game's rules and mechanics.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:25am

I like the idea of strategically occupying the spawn points to spawn more pieces.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:24am

Neat idea! Was hard to keep my own geomancers from inadvertent backgrowth... Wanted to create some ships, but didn't last long enough!

Smirnov48 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:05am

Nice game! You need AI player.

snowshovelboy says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:15am

Shooting gliders is pretty cool.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Definitely takes quite some figuring out. I managed to destroy all of red before I got there, and there didn't seem to be any ending or way to restart that game at that point. I found it very interesting conceptually, though!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]