Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snow Goat Avalanche

by loxo - Compo Entry

Finally after a long break from ludum dare, I managed to make a game again. It's simple, but better than nothing. I started late and so there is much left to do. Animations are missing and the graphics in general need additional work and variation. There would have been so much more possible if I had started right away.

I tried to incorporate both themes in my game. So you have two buttons (cursor keys left and right) to control an avalanche triggered by a snow goat. The goal is to let the avalanche grow as large as possible. The snowball grows slowly, so it isn't noticeable in a short run.

HTML/Javascript

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#124Humor3.35
#569Graphics2.94
#622Audio2.23
#653Fun2.92
#715Theme3.40
#749Mood2.53
#805Overall2.81
#910Innovation2.10

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:28am

Was really laughing when I started the game! Thanks for that! Would be nice if the snowball grows further and further on his way down the mountain. Also liked the "goat flying" animation when you hit a tree!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:17pm

lol funny. I like how that got flies :)
if the snowball got bigger as it went it would have tied in the other theme as well.

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:30pm

My girlfriend played this and enjoyed it, then got me to play it too :) I thought the goat flying out of the snowball was very amusing! Wish there were more avalanche effects.

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:13am

funny simple addictive game play. + 1 for the goat!

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Interesting little game :) Would have been interesting to see with some animations!

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Would have loved to see the rolling animation of the snowball though!!

LazyDev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Nice sound design :)

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:26am

Simple but addictive.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:42pm

A fun game to play. Shame you didn't have time to do the animation, a rolling snowball would have addad a lot to the game.

The Vall says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Cool little game sort of reminds me of SkiFree. I think an animation for the snow ball/goat would have added some depth.

Tuism says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:42pm

A good try :) A basic runner with basic mechanics. Like the implementation of the theme - goat goes flying, that's fun. Would be good if you spent more time on mechanics - more interesting movement, lay of the level, progression and such.

Still a decent simple entry.

Blobo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Nice work with the theme! the controls were nice, and the game itself was enjoyable. i like how the goat flies.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Pretty simple in terms of gameplay mechanics but I like the rather humorous premise.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Wow, that audio sample is annoying ;D

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:41pm

some more variety and more visibility on the growing snowball, otherwise good work. love the goat flying animation

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Made me laugh, although i would found it more amusing if it was a running goat (with animations) instead of a snowball - the sound was amusing at first but became annoying making a noise with every button press.

Baaa baaa baa baaa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa baa

Neil says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:23am

Funny game! Could really have done with a bit more polish, but still fun to play!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:55am

Oh frak, the goat sample plays with every keypress, ha! Even with direct manipulation of the ball, this gets difficult quickly. 41 secs is the best I could do.

Response to your comment: Adding multiple balls and all that other stuff was indeed in the plans but ran out of time. Let's do better next time!

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:59am

Two small things. If the snowball had a bit of animation and it grew bigger that would be a really nice touch. Other than that a solid game that was really fun.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Pro:
+ Simple but fun
+ Goat flying animation is awesome
+ Audio and graphics are cool
Con:
- The snowball growing is way too slow
- Missed the rolling animation
- Score could go higher faster, leader board has so many zeros

Not a baahd job!

dlowe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:07am

This is a fun little game! The title might be the best part :D

The controls feel really "jumpy"... I think because there's no acceleration between 0 and top-speed. Makes it very hard to make the kind of small adjustments that would be needed at high speeds.

Thanks for the game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:04am

love the flying goat - needed some more to it - but what is here is well done - good effort

CMG says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Reminds me of an old skiing game I used to play. If you survived long enough in that old one, a yeti would run out to eat you. In this one I think it's most rewarding to lose, to see the goat fly out!

Ace says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Really liked the animation when you hit a tree, less liking how much goat sounds you get when moving. Perhaps a short cooldown timer before you replay the sound could help.

wehard says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Haa fun game! Would be nice to have some rolling animation for the snowball!

Bemmu says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:43am

That goat sound will haunt me in my dreams. This would be a lot more addicting with global high scores.

Zener says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:51am

Simple and fun! It would be nice to have some way to make the ball grow. I wonder how you made the goat sample XD

Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:04am

Nice take on the classic pitfall game, love the goat pictures!

Efuvex says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:23am

Hi there, you recently rated our game "Hypernova", and it has come to our attention that we were doing some messing around with it making a multiplayer alpha version - and we accidentally replaced the final ludum dare build... if you could take the time to just check back on it again, the web version is fixed and you can play the full game as it was when released at the end of ludum dare. Sorry for the inconvenience!

paruthidotexe says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Fun to play and addictive simple game with good concept and art.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]