Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Drill Fight

by VladRusu - Jam Entry

It's a bloody evening in the drill camp and it's time for boots to show off and fight for respect!
Who's your enemy inside the camp? Give him the dreadful shot!
--------
CONTROLS:

Use left / right arrow keys to move

While facing right:
Press right right arrow keys for Attack Combo1 (Knee in the face - Dude, Kick in the groin - Dudette)
Press left right left arrow keys for Attack Combo2 (Fist combo - Dude, Jump on his shoulders then do shit to him - Dudette)

While facing left:
Press left left arrow keys for Attack Combo1
Press right left right arrow keys for Attack Combo2

DON'T FORGET TO CHOSE YOUR CHARACTER! use left / right arrow keys to select, then press space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#407Audio(Jam)3.21
#547Graphics(Jam)3.40
#556Humor(Jam)2.59
#583Theme(Jam)3.60
#705Overall(Jam)3.12
#730Mood(Jam)2.95
#879Fun(Jam)2.67
#919Innovation(Jam)2.43

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07am

Good game! Awesome art style!

icereci says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50am

FIGHT!

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42am

Pretty sweet!

Janacek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23pm

We need more combos ! :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

I like the background and the art in general. Audio is good too. Gameplay wise it's not challenging you can basically beat your opponent into a corner and spam combos to win.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:59pm

It impressive how advance combat can you make with just two button controll and it is still pretty playable. Good job

RevelBase says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20am

Awesome Metal Music! Loved the Grafics

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:52am

Neat concept. I like how you've managed to incorporate combos into the two button control scheme (even though there were only 2).

triello says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Great enviroment graphics!

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Nearly broke my keyboard :-) Well done

fullmontis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:02pm

The gameplay is very interesting, but I think there are some problems with the collision. Most of the time I think I hit the opponent and instead I miss. Also, the characters should be bigger, three quartes of the screen are just background.

I really like the idea, I think you should develop it further.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Had some troubles with collision but had fun from blood fighting. What can i say : good fighting with two buttons is hard work but you did it very well. Respect!

Ace says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Really nice art, and the music is quite good too.

A few comments though; Actually know what connects and when was very fuzzy, perhaps some hit particles would work better than just blooding out the screen.
Also felt like the hitboxes were a bit too small, since you could walk eachother into a corner and then almost not be able to hit with an attack anymore.

Overall though, rather nice.

lastninja2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Really enjoyed it ;)

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:40pm

unable to ply in first time, stopped @ 6%..
Then played it is interesting and addictive..
not challenging enough to play..

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:58am

Neat, I liked the badass style!

Aaants says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:41am

Nice one :)

francoisvn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Um... why do you play as a man beating up a woman?

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:36pm

I must admit this type of game is not really for me, though I played my fair share of it as a kid. The controls work nice. It would have been great to have a combo for blocking too. That way it'd be more dynamic of a fight.

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Neat little game

dj_pale says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Had a little bit trouble with the controls, so it didn't feel as responsive as I would have liked. Mood and artstyle were really good.

xaedes says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:34am

fun fight for a few a minutes. my combos don't seem to hit when they should sometimes. the music rocks

Mar 30, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Neat graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]