Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

10SFT2LF Eating Contest

by Toestee - Compo Entry

In my Idiocy, I completely forgot about Ludum Dare this weekend, so when I got the theme announcement email after I got home from work, I was a bit shocked. But never the less, here is 10SFT2LF EATING CONTEST!!!! I spent around 12 hours total on this, and had I not slept in, there would be sound.

EATING CONTEST is a 2-player game, where the goal is to be fatter than your opponent in each round. The first player to score 2 wins is the winner. But you'll need to be careful, as you only have limited food which carries through the rounds.



CONTROLS:

Player 1: W - Vomit

S - Eat

Player 2: UP - Eat

DOWN - Vomit



Any updates will be found http://toestee.itch.io/10sbo3lf-eating-contest

Made for LUDUM DARE #34 in only 12 hours

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#98Humor3.48
#272Theme3.97
#357Graphics3.33
#441Innovation3.21
#649Mood2.73
#661Fun2.91
#673Overall3.00
#679Audio1.61
#2482Coolness0%

Comments

acotis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:07am

Not bad. I like the idea of having two rounds where food carries over.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:10am

Cool effects and numbers. But I dont really get what I am supposed to do...

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:11am

Haha, very noice! Like the way you interpreted Growing xD Don't think I have a lot to say about it other than the fact that it becomes very repetitive, and that I can imagine some some great sounds for it :p With a bit more time, and some extra gameplay it would be 10/10. One very positive thing is the graphics! Looks really good!

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:20am

Graphics are awesome. Nice and simple game, but pretty hard to figure out what you're actually supposed to do without reading the description.

Tjakka5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:22am

Fun game to play with friends, and the graphics are absolutely amazing.

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:22am

At the beginning i didn't know what to do, but after a few game i learned how does the mechanics works, very fun game, very competitive ahaha, awesome effects, cool graphics ;) 10/10.

Nanocryk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:24am

Simple game. I like of the "growing" theme is used here ... You should show the controls in the game btw

fede0d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:43am

It's a very simple game. But I liked the art style and the animations.
It would be great to have a tutorial showing the controls before the game starts.

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:59am

I don't get it...
I vomit and eat, but how do I make points ?
Maybe, you should explain a bit better... Idk.

but it's a nice gameplay for only 12 hours.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:10am

This is an entertaining two player concept. I wish It had sounds :) The animations are fun.

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:13am

Instructions on the game would be nice.

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:16am

It's very unsettling, so good job.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19am

Really innovative. Great job!

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

Could use some sound effects but would make a fun multiplayer game.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42am

On the first play i thought this game was either too easy or impossible, but after a few plays i found it surprisingly competetive, to some extent. nice and simple!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51am

Cool pixel art and fun multiplayer!

Luxorix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09am

Good

Mr. Magma says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:03am

Good concept! Great for playing with someone else on the same keyboard but a little less fun if you have no friends. Captures the theme very nicely.

edriavw says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18am

unique growing theme, not bad

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:07am

Funny game, nice take on the theme(s) too :)

ciobeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:20pm

I never thought I'd see a game like this before, really entertaining. I've got to say though, was really disappointend that the guy didn't explode upon victory.

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Sadly, I currently have nobody to play this with.
Overall good job! Love the way you used the theme

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:50pm

great fun! One comment tho, as there is no audio you should remove the "Audio" category from the voting by editing your submission. If there is supposed to be audio... I am not hearing any!

burntcustard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Hard to know what to do, but interesting concept.

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45am

Not sure what the vomit button is for. I love the bellies.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]