Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

No One Can Hear You Honk in Space

by ShellfishGames - Compo Entry

So ummm Shorty, here's the thing. I think it's time for you to, err, grow up, so I, uhh, took this spaceship that I found and uh well it's yours.
The control panel only had two buttons and I chose the only sensible way to fuse them. It did sound good in my head you know, now I'm not so sure, but I've got more important things to do so here's the deal.
First button, F, is upward thrust.
Second button, H, is honking.
Now the problem about honking is that nobody can hear you honk in space. Which means it's useless.
Flying upwards however is useful as, for some reason, your ship is affected by some kind of gravity.
Now go, fly somewhere!

Edit: Uploaded a 32bit version, since the first one only works on 64bit systems. Sorry about that to anyone who wasn't able to play!
I'll also try to upload a youtube version soon for those without Windows or the time to download and play all these games.
Cheers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Humor3.90
#167Fun3.62
#215Mood3.39
#263Overall3.52
#397Audio2.81
#456Graphics3.14
#745Innovation2.67
#829Theme3.19
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:17pm

You forgot to throw in everybody's favorite: Mr. Crappydunghole

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Brilliant game! I love the dialogue between the two characters and the Rick and Morty references are hilarious. The gameplay mechanics are really fun with the way it ties into the storyline. Keep up the good work - I look forward to your next submission!

gillenew says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04pm

I quite liked the game overall, the funny dialogue motivated enough and the story certainly helped to continue to learn more about what would come next portal :D

jachepe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:20pm

A very very fun game!!!

Mantlair says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:56am

I have an 32 bit pc so game didnt work. As a Dick and Shorty fan I switched to another family pc and this time pc crashed short(l)y after I started with gameplay part but yeah I think I can vote now. You got a solid 5 on humor m8! Well done!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:59am

I can see a great work with humor and graphics here. Sadly, the gameplay is sometimes a bit frustrating because of permadeath. Keep up the good work!

4/5

Mantlair says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:12am

Ok thanks for 32 bit build. I did finish the game and yeah. I just love breaking the 4th wall way too much. Well done. Also, that attacks were intense.

Wevel says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:14am

Love the ending, very funny, would be nice for an endless mode as well as the story

banana4life says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:13am

I LOVED the humor! Going full meta is simply brilliant... Gotta admit that I only watched the video but that was excellent already - very entertaining from start to finish. Keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]