Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GunGun Koi

by CheesyRamen - Compo Entry

***NOTE*** Despite what the game says, W & S (NOT A & D) grow and shrink the player. Sorry, I'll fix this when I can! Thanks to @PowerSpark for noticing this!

How far can you go?
Grow & shrink! Big fish are BAD!
And Walls are BAD too!

W to grow
S to shrink!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Theme4.61
#134Humor3.30
#211Innovation3.61
#330Fun3.35
#352Overall3.39
#410Graphics3.22
#524Mood2.90
#591Audio2.36
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25am

Enjoyed this! :) Nice concept! Yeah the tune is repetitive but it's got a nice retro arcade feel.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:16pm

simple but pure arcade fun! good job!

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Nice concept.
The keys A and D are not working for me. (I used the web version, here at page)
Good job.

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29pm

@seththefirst
If you're playing the web version, try clicking on the game window once it loads. That should allow you to use the controls properly!

Leuthil says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Nice game :) The music gets pretty repetitive pretty quick but the sound fx are good. I liked the game concept. Pretty well-executed and good use of the themes. It was pretty difficult though :o I had fun playing it :)

Yumi and Zumi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Nice original game idea buddy! Really hard but I did notice that it seems to work gradually, never expecting you to jump from a tiny fish to giant in one move, at least it felt that way.

Good work!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:52pm

I thought the yellow warning sign was a great idea. It helped me to feel like it's my fault that I died.

mar3k says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Cool game.

tompudding says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:57pm

This game is pretty fun and I think with a little more work on things like the sound (it was kind of annoying) it could become a very good game! PS Loved the parallax hills

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:58pm

I could not get the game to work with A and D but did with the up and down arrows.

The game is cool, with a nice mechanic. I did have to mute my computer after a while, though. :) I like the use of the fish, and the warning signs.

Skywilly says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:05pm

A little game with a really great & progressive difficulty.

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:08pm

@ChiPassGames weird... I'll have to take a look at why the A & D keys would not work...

As for the music, I guess I should learn how to make music properly... :/

Marthog says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:30pm

I like it

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Solid arcade game, I like how there's warning signs if you're too big or small for the obstacle! The game says A and D but you probably meant to say W and S, which are correct controls.

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Cool game!
I found a bug: When you collide on a fish at the same time as you grow/shrink you dont eat the fish. You just swim through it.

coldman says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Oh my god, so hard x) yet I liked the idea. Maybe you should speed up a bit the growing/shrinking to balance the game ;)

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:45am

@PowerSpark oh wow, I can't believe that I didn't notice that! Thanks, I'll update the build when I get the chance!

Volatile Dove says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Gameplay and tune a bit repetitive... but nice retro feel!

Zyow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Nice idea! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]