Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cideogen

by Crefossus - Jam Entry

Kill some meeps.

Compo rules except time, so it's solo. (Still didn't finish the way I planned at all!)

Tools used:
unity,photoshop,pixitracker,audacity

Removed webgl build due to bugs and hitching.

Bugfixes:
*no longer stick/stuck to walls, bullets collide with floors

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#367Humor(Jam)2.90
#602Audio(Jam)2.74
#770Mood(Jam)2.88
#853Graphics(Jam)2.70
#924Theme(Jam)3.00
#943Overall(Jam)2.78
#991Fun(Jam)2.43
#1005Innovation(Jam)2.17
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:00am

Tried playing it but I got stuck on a wall and my browser froze. Looks weird. Can you upload some other build and let me know on twitter if you do?

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:23pm

It was quite difficult to get a hang of. After a while I did get at least to the place where you drop down in the underground. Had some really large weapon, but it didn't seem to hit the enemies anymore. I think for controls you should consider turning up the gravity some and for physics remove the friction (or make it like ice) of the rigidbody so it doesn't stick to walls.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:34am

You should work on that camera, most times I couldn't see where I was going, or when I saw an enemy it was too late to avoid the attacks. The sword attack seems to be weird, also, but I can't find exactly where's the problem. You did a good job, keep working on it!

Mantlair says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Well, There was some problems with collisions that annoyed me. A nice simple adventure of someone getting fat I guess. I liked that image btw i think you should link it here I can use it as a reaction image here and there.

anv says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Interesting concept with growing sword. Artwork is incosistent between characters and environment, maybe you should keep characters in the same minimalistic blocky style. Physics need some polish (crucial in platformer).

Gjarble says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:00am

I sympathize with your time issues- time management is always the hardest part of a game jam for me.

The game is cute (the sound effects in particular are adorable), but the design could use some refining. In particular, I found that the sword soon grew so long that I was killing enemies offscreen simply by repeatedly swinging whenever I entered a new area.

euske says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:34am

Haha, I liked how your weapon grows.

drinkadriu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:02am

It okay, but needs some fixes

mockthebear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:09pm

I think you need polish and sync the animations and when the attack are deal. It seems the attack happenhs only when the animation finish.

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:37pm

I like the concept of your weapon growing. :)
But maybe your camera should zoom out as your weapon grows?

Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Wonky hit detection on the sword (?), plus a very unfun control scheme. The Megaman model (one hand for movement, the other for jumping and shooting) works much better than whatever's going on here, and even mapping jump to W would work better.

Charming audio, though.

ViKing Games says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:23pm

The growing weapon was funny the whole way through, and it worked with the goofy mood presented with the graphics, music, and story.

The gameplay was short and not very entertaining. Not much to say there that others haven't already said.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]