Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Motherboard

by leonoel - Jam Entry

[-- THE GAME --]

You are an electronic cell, you need to grow, you need to expand, and finally, to kill your opponent.

- Data Farmers will collect "data" to feed you
- Firewall will protect your Data Farmers
- DDoS Attack will go to destroy ennemies

You don't choose where your units goes, they can decide by themselves! But you still can influence their decisions by aiming their spawn position.

DDoS attack are more expensive than Firewalls, and Firewalls much expensive than Data-Farmers

[-- CONTROLS --]

[V] for Data-Farmers
[C] for Firewalls
[X] for DDoS Attacks

[-- ABOUT --]

We made this game in 72h our for the 34th Ludum Dare
The game still have bugs, and is not totally finished as you can see ;)
But we hope that you will enjoy to play it as much as we enjoyed to create it!

[-- THE CREW --]

* Paul Vaille [6th ludum]: Developer / Game Designer / Level Designer
* Aurélien David [3rd Ludum]: Developper / Game Designer
* Léo Noël [5th Ludum]: Game Designer / Level Designer / Sound Designer
* Arnaud Chaté [2nd Ludum]: Game Art (2D)
* Sylvain NGuyen [1st Ludum]: Game Art (3D)
* Sybil Collas [1st Ludum]: Writing

* Music by : Martin Vincent

[-- TIPS --]

Unity Web Player doesn't works in Google Chrome!
Please use Firefox, Opera, Internet Explorer (yea...) or another one who support Unity Web Player ;)

Or Download the Windows version (I know it's boring)

Have fun and may Datas be with you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2073Coolness26%

Comments

maartene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00am

very pretty game. the objectives are a little unclear though. anyway, good game. should translate well to mobile also.

csanyk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:32am

Unity web player isn't supported by chrome any more:( NPAPI plugin support is no more.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:47pm

I don't know how, but I won. Frustrativ gameplay

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Good idea, nice gameplay and graphics, really enjoyed it. Good work!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Nice game. Very good sound and well done fx. I was confused at the beginning but then it was fun to watch them kill the enemy... I was pressing DDOS like a boss :D +1 for the textes above the elec cells. I think a little tutorial at the beginning would be an good advice. God Job overall!

Jordan Smith says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Interesting game, very pretty. However also hard to learn. A tutorial would be nice.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:07pm

That was great! It took me a little while to get the hang of it but after a few goes it was very enjoyable!
I loved the little quips from the units ^_^

dx0ne says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Looks and feels good but is little too easy. Maybe different levels some stricter production limits? Overall would play again.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:27am

art and audio was amazing nice job

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:15am

Seems like it could be a good game with some polish. I kinda ended up just mashing once I had enough farmers, and my game started to bog down hard.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:11am

Most polished game I have seen so far! Amazing sound and graphics. Great usage of the theme, very fun. Could have used a bit more indications on how to play. Cheers!

teamvr says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:03am

Very chill and fun game play. Great look

OwT says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:00am

I loved it! It was so much fun to play, I don't even know how much time I'm already sitting here.
At first it was hard to understand how it's supposed to work, but after a while I was even feeling attached to some of my glowing balls (he he he). It really felt like they had their own personality!
One of the most well made games in LD34!! Congratz :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]