Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Flame Keepers

by John Drury - Compo Entry

UPDATE: Hey guys. Thanks for playing and providing feedback! I really wish I had enough time to get to level design and more background polish, but hey I'm glad the movement and controls are super responsive and tight.

I have decided to spend more time on this project and polish it up quite nicely :D

Hope you guys look forward to the finished product.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
You play a as one of the Flame Keeper's Reapers, a being that travels haunted corridors and collects soul essence. With soul essence a Flame Keeper's Flame will grow and thus the Reaper will grow as well..

The ultimate goal of Reapers is to remove all the tombs within the corridors of the Flame Keepers Dungeon.

GETTING HIT BY A GHOST WILL REMOVE 3 SOULS FROM YOUR LAMP,
IF YOU ARE HIT BY A GHOST AND HAVE NO SOULS YOU WILL DIE.

CONTROLS

'A' 'D' - Movement
'W' - Jump
'Space' - Attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#121Graphics3.93
#246Mood3.33
#260Overall3.53
#392Fun3.27
#672Innovation2.80
#900Theme2.83
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22am

Can you explain to me how to run this game? I'm not sure how to open the capx file and what software I need to do this. This game looks so interesting but alas, I can't play it D:

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:37am

You can't play straight from browser?

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10am

Fun game and nice art!! Love it...
But it gets rather tedious to destroy those pots!! just saying :)
But overall loved it!

fede0d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47am

I liked the graphics & the animations. I didn't understand quite well the ultimate goal of the game.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:50am

Nice game, just a little bit too easy i found. BUT, the fact that enemys are re-spawning is a very nice idea

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:17am

The movement feels solid and responsive, and the jumping feels natural too. The main thing that I think is lacking is some kind of antagonist to push you towards accomplishing the goal. Nice job!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28am

Great art! The pot smashing shouldn't take multiple hits... having to stop at every pot for 3 sec adds up

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:33am

Very cool aesthetic. I tended to get lost a bit, but the combat was pretty fun. Great job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:39am

Really liked the graphics and the sound effect. Some nice dark background music would have done a great job. liked the controls but there is too less inovation in this game

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49am

Liked how the game works and when the souls left the vases and entered the lamps. Good Pixel graphics. I had fun with this. Good Job.

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:53am

Mechanics of souls is very interesting. Not clearly goal. I think the first lamp should be after you collected necessary amount of souls. It'll be more understandable.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21am

Nice game and art. However, it gets stale quite quickly...

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:17pm

the biggest thing about this game is the controls. I really wish that I could use ASDW to move and jump and like right CTRL to attack, or something along those lines. It really hurts my hands to play it. Otherwise very good platforming basics here. Decrease the pot health to make it so you just need one hit. I just wish that something that made me want to fill the pots, other than just to gain more soles. Lastly moving around the level was a bit awkward as some of the jumps to get back to the top were not very obvious. Great concept and effort here, if it was the 72 hour jam Im sure this would have been a stellar submission! good job though!

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:05pm

I liked the mood and the really consistent graphics (especially the soul-collection), but it took way too long to destroy each pot. Good job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Very fun to play but it gets really repetitive. I liked the power ups though

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:13pm

kind of hard to break all the pots.. also level design could have been more varied
game has nice art

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58pm

you win! :) I cant believe the first time I died when I was less than 100 away from completing the 1k pot.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:16am

This was really good and satisfing! The audio got a little bit annoying really quick though. But I really enjoyed it overall!

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:17pm

I really liked the sound effects and animations. Or, in some ways it's simple, but in other ways it gives really good player feedback. It was addictive dishing out attacks to things. Well done!

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:22pm

really lovely game! ,love the easthetic and gameplay
i do hope you will continue this :)

scorched says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Nice graphics, like the special effects, but the gameplay itself is a bit boring :(
Sounds are not that bad

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]