Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ludum Party!

by FuzzyWuzzie - Compo Entry

Ludum Party!

Challenge your friend, or your friendly CPU to a series of quick minigames using only two buttons!

Each game makes use of the two buttons—it should be fairly obvious which button does what.

Player 1's A/B buttons are Q and E on the keyboard.
Player 2's A/B buttons are I (as in 'icecream') and P on the keyboard.

** Note: there are 4 mini-games! Try 'em all! (Their order is shuffled, so if you get to a game you've already played, you've done them all! [Feel free to keep playing however ;)])

Known bugs:

Doesn't load on Mac Safari (loads fine in Chrome and Firefox though). Not sure why; am investigating.

Tools used:

* Sublime Text 3
* Bosca Ceoil
* Bfxr
* Audacity
* PyxelEdit
* Photoshop
* Chrome debugging tools
* snõw (http://underscorediscovery.github.io/snow/)
* tusk (https://github.com/BlazingMammothGames/tusk)
* Programmed in Haxe!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#53Fun3.89
#68Overall3.92
#74Humor3.60
#104Theme4.18
#112Audio3.60
#118Mood3.63
#241Graphics3.58
#278Innovation3.47

Comments

srakowski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29am

SO MANY MINIGAMES! :) It was hard to tell the shooters apart on the space cops one. I really liked the bottle blaster one, that was pretty cool. Well done :)

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41am

Very nice music. There should really be a "next game" button though.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41am

Interesting games. I enjoyed the sledding one.
Nicely polished.

FireSlash says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42am

Impressed in the quantity of minigames. Not all of them play super well, but in a wario-ware style packaging it's fitting and enjoyable.

Also I lost to mr computer. Bad.

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42am

I'm terrible at this! Lol but it was quite fun!

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42am

Well done ! Although I don't appreciate my computer beating me at general culture ^^

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

I love it! Reminds me of warioware! Things i've learned: A randomly controlled computer is better than me at trivia, galaga style games and sledding. :(

Nice job!

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

All of the mini games were great. Looks like a really ambitious LD entry, and you did a good job with it.

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

Really well done! Enjoyed the sledding! :)

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

This is so great - Always awesome to see local multiplayer games in LD, especially ones that are this complete.

snowshovelboy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

Mr Computer is a BEAST!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

Great job! I whipped that computer's ass in the space game. Didn't see a yeti in the ski-free game though, sadly. :) I liked the sound design and the everything felt really lively and interactive.

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

Nice game... but the Mr. Computer cheats a lot.. hahahaha

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46am

Great game. I don't have someone else to play it with right now, but it seems like it would be a lot of fun.

KBF123 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46am

Fun set of minigames!

nystical says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

Really fun! Interesting to see so many different mini games you could make while keeping the theme in mind.

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

The bottle blaster is really cool!

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

Very nicely done. All the games feel polished and playable, and it's very cool to have both 2 player and vs computer options. The music in the space game is quite cool.

It would be nice if the trivia game gave you feedback so you could tell whether your button press was accepted or not. The AI seems to have a big advantage in the bottle rocket game, or else I'm missing a part of the controls.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51am

Neat mini games. The sound and presentation were top notch!

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

not very creative in terms of the wario-ware type package, but hey it uses 2 buttons. It's a funny game and Now I know how tall mount Everest is. The CPU is just a bit TOO smart at the quiz game. or maybe I'm just a bit dumb, and of course, variety. but then, you only had 48 hours

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

Wow, this one should qualify as multipĺe entries :D. Nice mini-games, though some of them the computer is too stupid to win ;).

JanGames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29am

The computer kick my ass in every game expcept space cops. I rule at space cops, thanks god, or i would have felt like an idiot. Great game.

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14am

Wow. The scope of this is impressive and it's pretty fun too. Great job!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:32am

Still not working in Safari not sure why, but worked fine in Chrome on Mac. Great fun little game. Loved that you could play against the computer even if the CPU beat me in most games haha. Well done.

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21am

That computer is way way waaaaaaaay too good :P I really liked how much content was crammed into this, graphics were simple and effective, and sounds were spot on for the game.

Something weird I noticed is that when I clicked Q+E it didn't start, but when I clicked E+Q it finally did. No clue why. Maybe mouse was out of context or something and I'm just hallucinating.

Solid entry, good luck!

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:24am

This is a cool concept I like that you've just pushed as many 2 button games as you can into a single game.

I think the feel of the game suggests the games should be quicker, and run on faster, so you're having to change what you're doing every 5 seconds or so.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43am

Love this game! Liked the music for all the mini games except space cops. Took me awhile but I managed to beat the computer on all the games, but I think the computer is a little too good at this. All the nicknames and mini game names were pretty funny too

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:21am

Holy moley you have a lot of skill and perseverance to create this many games! It makes it difficult to vote on your project as a whole however. Anyway well done, you're working is very impressive!

tanis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:41am

You managed to add a lot of games in such a small time frame! Grats! They're all fun to play. You should make the cop spaceships a bit different so that they stand out or you easily lose track of your own :)

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Really nice job, a very solid and polished game! My favorite minigame is the sledding!

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:14pm

The computer player is good!

Aaants says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Really nice

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Ingenius

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Very good indeed! Very innovative, well done. :)

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Great ideas, great execution

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Wow! So many games AND multiplayer AND AIs! This is very impressive, because it all works rather well and is quite fun on top. Well done!

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Nice job! Impresive that you got some AI in there in such a short time :)

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:35am

Very cool game! I wish I had a friend to play it with, but thankfully you threw in a CPU to play against! Very nice job with the design, too.

You definitely started with a great idea. I think if you put a lot of polish into it, you could make an amazing party game out of it! :D

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20pm

i love the idea, bunch of minigame with only 2 control, awesome music and visual
this game remind me lot of bishi bashi on PS1 :D

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:29am

what a cool wario-ware clone! The bottle rocket blast was my favorite followed by Space Cops :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:05am

Simple but very fun. Great job dude :)

Eduardo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Not only one game, but four! Nice that you have your own game engine using snow.

scorched says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Neat! Some questions in quiz are skipped so fast I can't even read them. Is it the computer replying faster than me? :D Also I bumped in a flag or something in skiing level intentionally, thinking it's a collectable

dvdfu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:44pm

I really enjoyed this entry! At first I thought it was only the quiz (which was fun + frustrating enough) but it's really amazing that there are a ton of mini games involved. Great job!

psychonull says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:20am

Amazing party game! It felt very polished. Thanks for including AI, I'm coming back and playing again with some friends later!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]