Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cowboys Vs. Ninjas

by carlsommer - Jam Entry

Cowboys Vs. Ninjas is a two button arena battle between... cowboys and ninjas! Basically you just bounce around and attack each other using the mouse buttons.

It can get buggy, but the movement is intentionally tricky (although, it wasn't intentionally as tricky as it actually is : ) My biggest regret though, is that I wasn't able to put in a good interface to keep score and time. Also, beware that sometimes you can fall through the ground mesh. That's also unfortunate : / It also doesn't give you clear feedback when you've been killed. (that's part of my interface regret)

This was developed in 48 hours with Unreal 4.9, Maya 2015, Photoshop and Illustrator, but I had some disastrous issues getting it hosted in time. Also, all the audio came from Unreal's free stuff.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#522Humor(Jam)2.64
#844Innovation(Jam)2.62
#889Graphics(Jam)2.58
#987Mood(Jam)2.16
#1016Fun(Jam)2.35
#1080Theme(Jam)2.23
#1114Overall(Jam)2.12
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:42am

Confusing controls, actually have 4 insted of 2.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16am

The movement is a little weird, because it doesn't adjust to your camera angle. Also not really sure what is going on before the round ends

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:05am

Enjoyed the idea! Would be a fun game with some more work.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:20am

Good stuff, I eventually learned that tapping the left mouse button would let you spin much slower and the aiming got a lot easier. Go team Cowboy!

Still had some difficulty controlling which direction I was facing, did I miss something?

jdoughty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:39am

definately needs a bit more love. loved the theme!

carlsommer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Andrew, the controls were meant to be hard (tried to make it feel like them mouse wasn't really a "button" even though it kind of is) however, it ended up being way trickier than I'd hoped. I definitely hope to tweak it soon to give it standard WASD controls with mouse facing forward and a clear interface that lets you know your score and time as well as when you die.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:29pm

could not download it, unfortunately

themadknights says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43pm

The concept is great but I don't like the implementation :D. The controls feel awkward and the game flow is not totally clear. Keep polishing the idea!

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Controls unfortunately made this really unplayable for me.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:44pm

I think it needs some more work the controls are just hard to use.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:25am

Needs some more work for sure, but the idea is nice and I did have some good fun!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:36am

This is a great, hilarious concept. Even if intentional, I think the tough controld detract from the experience, but if you work on them in the future, this would be an awesome, unique experience.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:41am

Nice concept, it is fun but when game just goes back to main screen after playing for less than a minute it kinda is irritaiting (i mean it does not seem that i have been hit or anything). Putting that aside this arena is fun, maybe movement could be improved.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:05am

Gameplay needs to be polished hard, especially moving control.
I can't figure out what to do and the level is over.
Keep going :)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:46pm

You have to little control over the character. Maybe it would be more fun if you had more control.

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:07am

Honestly, i have no idea what was going on. The movement is really erratic, and aiming is impossible because you're rotating wildly. I tried both teams and both times the game ended without me understanding why.

Simonaiso says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:53am

Haha laughed pretty hard at this. Movement and aim is pretty bad, but still it was funny.

Rustam says ...
Jun 2, 2017 @ 1:03pm

Have a solitaire game in mind that you'd like to play on your device, but cannot find an app that meets your needs. http://bux-best.ru Find hidden gems and go off the beaten track, or enjoy being part of the crowd.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]