Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Generic Tycoon Game

by krika08 - Compo Entry

A generic, short, Tycoon game where you upgrade stuff and build your business.

You will need to extract the .zip file before running the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#429Humor2.47
#594Audio2.35
#835Mood2.18
#837Graphics2.27
#879Theme2.96
#930Innovation1.92
#931Fun2.15
#948Overall2.33

Comments

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48am

Hey dude, you created this without a game engine? I'm envious if so. Nice game; could use some goals. Well done.

trexmix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Its a good start without a game engine (if the other commentor is correct). However, its pretty darn generic and is over within about 2 minutes.

kaynank says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:03am

Seems kind of pointless after about the first minute. Buy upgrades to earn more money to buy more upgrades that don't even have any visual effect?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:18am

Okay game, a little short, but the idea makes me laugh.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:27am

As generic as it can be. Keep going. Not sure what's the goal.

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:25am

I like the music, reminds me of dos games lol.

LavWa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:44am

Ah nice game man, cool to see some pure java games without engine. Great work :)

Budi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Without game engine - great work! :-) A like the idea of generic tycoon. :D Overall I think it needs polishing, because the game is quite pointless. I like you made music and sounds, it really adds a lot to a game like this.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:05am

I like that the shortened "programmer" kind of looks like "programmer ammo." xD

That said, it's a bit too fast and could use some kind of goal. Also would be nice to see how much of each thing I have. But for what it is, it's okay.

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:43am

love the pixel art graphics, however, if there is more content in the game, it would be better. Also i wish the person would remain selected when I upgrade him

Gornova says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Not bad, but like others said, lack of content and "point"

Ivan Volkov says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:17am

Dude, I think there are some troubles with your game, cause all I see on the screen is prices and you current amount of money
When I click them all there are just nothing left

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:01am

Too bad there is no visual representation of different upgrade levels, and upgrades are too cheap. I could click upgrade all the time, I was getting more than I could spend. Also, upgrading should be by clicking the appropriate job itself. Click on job then click upgrade was a bit cumbersome.

Other than that, keep up the good work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]