Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ring World

by PoQA Games - Jam Entry

Description and web player version on their way! The Windows version has been tested the most.

Ring World is a game where you try to survive waves of aliens long enough to build a rocket. You can click on enemies to defeat them, and click on the orb of energy to harvest it. You can also build bases to gather resources and fight aliens for you. Don't forget to build houses to keep your population up!

A ring is destroyed if all of its possible nodes are destroyed by the aliens. If all rings are destroyed, you lose.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#106Fun(Jam)3.75
#144Audio(Jam)3.73
#151Innovation(Jam)3.69
#156Overall(Jam)3.75
#275Graphics(Jam)3.88
#911Theme(Jam)3.06
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Very nice entry, took a minute to get what does what, even after reading the How To Play, but I think it's unavoidable. I found it to be very easy, getting a lot of energy is quick and the aliens don't spawn very often and have a very limited health pool. I had plenty of fun building stuff as quick as I can, I like the fact that your clics are all valuable ressources.

wooltech says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:18am

The first game I lost but didn't realise it for ages, as I was keeping the aliens away but no more build nodes were spawning so I couldn't start the rocket. Won the second time though :)

Nice mix of idle game with click-to-kill added.

zulman says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Gameplay is very fun, i played several times and enjoyed it. Good job!

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Took awhile to get into it then couldnt stop playing it until I won! Unfortunateyl pretty low replayablity - would like to have seen a new level or other buildings at higher levels. Would be good to do a post LD version with more stuff.

foolmoron says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Graphics are really nice, audio and gameplay is all solid. A bit too easy though, you just load up on lasers and you're immune to aliens, and then you can build up to 10 people and just chill while collecting energy until you have enough for the rocket.

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Thanks for the comments everyone! Unfortunately it didn't come together until it was too late to balance much. It's funny, our games are usually too hard - at least people are able to see the ending!

Zener says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:52pm

One of the best games I've played so far. One you got how it plays then it's quite easy. Animations and music are hypnotic

NoGrapes says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:13am

This game looked very good. I was very impressed with the presentation. It was also fun, but I did run into a problem when I used up all of my pods and I couldn't make a rocket ship. I think having an option of destroying a building yourself would have been nice, unless you can and I just didn't read the how to well enough. Also, being able to destroy the aliens by clicking on them made the game too easy. But, this game is very well done, good job!

Afendar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Graphism are awesome !!! pretty good job ! you have a little game concept very fun ! I like very well your game :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]