Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cutesadoopsi

by PizzaPranks - Jam Entry

You are the latest in the long line of Cutesadoopsi Cutengineers! It's your job to discover the next great Cutesadoopsi synthpet to impress and enterain the world. Manipulate your Cutesadoopi's environment to guide its evolution towards the next great thing!

Left click to interact/advance text.
Escape to quit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#719Audio(Jam)1.64
#755Humor(Jam)2.15
#923Innovation(Jam)2.41
#995Graphics(Jam)2.08
#996Mood(Jam)2.00
#1010Theme(Jam)2.71
#1091Fun(Jam)1.71
#1092Overall(Jam)2.38
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10am

Really slow progression, if any. A rather simple game.

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13pm

This crashes my browser (Chrome on Win7 64 bit)

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22pm

I don't mind going away to do things other than gaming while there is some kind of automatic progression, but... my wee dude seems perpetually stuck to the left side :(

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

The game is pretty simple and also, I was playing for 5-10 min and didn't saw evolution to my synthpet.

cescababs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:38pm

A bit slow but interesting parady of the old games

Vladik_Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:56pm

I'm not sure what to do next when I have those little creatures. I keep giving them food but they don't grow.

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:06am

Spent some qualit time on the phone listening to my ranting co-worker while I fill my place with poop. 10/10

Spencer Alves says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Playing in Firefox on Linux. Game freezes after the line "is the top contributor to…" :(

@SamPotasz says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:21pm

I really liked the hand-drawn feel to this.

dlowe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Hmm, how long does it take to evolve the critter? Seemed like a cute concept, but I couldn't get anywhere :/

jachepe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:36pm

the game has slow progression so need a lot of time. But the idea is great, good work!

kabel says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:42pm

A bit too slow, even though the concept was interesting.

Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:40pm

I agree that it was a bit slow, but I like the feel of this. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DUttdjt5uB4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]