Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

yaschiki

by nuprahtor - Jam Entry

First person shooter
Left Mouse Button - ACTION1
Right Mouse Button - ACTION2

Esc - quit (instant)

Footstep sounds by DifOrb (http://diforb.com/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#32Mood(Jam)4.23
#52Overall(Jam)4.00
#146Innovation(Jam)3.71
#171Audio(Jam)3.64
#183Graphics(Jam)4.07
#248Fun(Jam)3.51
#389Theme(Jam)3.80
#422Humor(Jam)2.80

Comments

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

Amazing. Wonderful atmosphere. Spooky as shit. Even the completely out-of-place jingles sound spooky.
Loved almost everything about the game. Would love to have some indicator of "I'm being hurt" and "where I'm being hurt", but other than that, didn't see anything I disliked.

RainFrogs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24am

Really fantastic! I agree about the damage indicator, but other than that it's mechanically solid and I did not encounter any bugs.

HighwireAct says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19am

The visual direction of this is spectacular, and I would love to see it expanded into something larger. There's a very distinct unsettling flavor to it, one that really makes this one stand out.

Ka-Wiz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21am

I didn't like the interface too much. It is pretty creative and mechanically interesting to use, but gameplay-wise it felt pretty tedious. The music was off-putting as well. The visual design, on the other hand, was amazing, and the enemies are very disturbing. Great job on that!

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:32am

Too spooky for me (plus I suck and couldn't get past the second lot of enemies)

Reloading seemed off, but that may have been me just panicking.

Very VERY good for 3 days work. You should definitely expand on it later.

DevDad says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:43am

Very good atmosphere.It's difficult to avoid the enemies while trying to load the weapon.It has a lot of potential and it would be my pleasure to play the next version.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42pm

This is great! Awesome sense of atmosphere. The reload mechanic is interesting and adds a sense of panic when enemies come after you. The dissonant soundtrack is a nice touch too. Have you ever played an Amiga game called Behind The Iron Gate? This reminds me a lot of that.

napoleon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

WHOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAA

Madball says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23pm

It can be scary, I understand... but why being difficult at the same time? Having an almost empty health bar is the worst part: you can still kinda play, but since there is no regeneration (or is it?), you know you will die very soon.

Astonishing. Even not considering that it's a two-button FPS. I don't even have much to say. The best part is reloading. Also, the music choice is funny.

I managed to survive a not ambush by running around in circles. With only a mouse in my control, running isn't even uncomfortable. But I couldn't pass the next fight.

By not being able to sleep I can play more LD games. Thank you for that.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30pm

My god, this is so great. You took the theme and made game mechanic aout of it. I mean it's brilliant how you controll your character and when you are attacked it REALLY puts you under pression. And as many before said, mood is also pretty amazing. Gr8 job m8!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:39am

Great style as always, but man it's tough. The giant HUD system is great and really adds to the unsettling nature of the game. I love the reload system although I keep thinking I need to change modes to reload, not sure why.

Alloyed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:44am

+ Enemy design is real good: they look properly otherworldly, convey the way you're supposed to attack them very well, and (importantly) don't need much animation to be believable
+ The two-button controls, in particular, don't seem as hamfisted in as a lot of the other LD games. Instead of feeling tedious they just feel hard, and they feel like they fit in well with reloading/the enemy chase mechanics etc. I would have liked more visual indicators, like maybe a first person weapon, but that's more juice than substance.
* I had some issues with how the camera chooses to center itself: in particular during reloads it seemed to recenter itself to the top right of the screen, which isn't helpful
* permadeath is bad mmkay
- When the enemies aren't in your field of view they might as well not be there. Sound cues would have helped a lot with letting your player know where they are in relation to them
- difficulty pacing is a bit off: you introduce both enemy types in the first fight and then all the rest of the fights up to the boss is that except more of them. then the boss starts out with mooks instead of getting them midway through the fight. These sorts of things frontload all the difficulty up-front which makes bad players bail early and good players feel like the game is too easy
(I didn't finish the boss so I might be talking out of my ass here)
- The dialog was incoherent, to me at least.

killer7/8

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:29pm

I very much enjoy the style of this game. The controls felt very well made too. Very smart reload-feature. It might have been good to make the modality be even more visually obvious, e.g. like tinting the entire game red. I found the enemies quite hard though, never got passed the first encounter. So I would urge to make it easier, with only one or possibly two (the flanking) enemies in the first encounter. The sound for it was fantastic though, so I didn't much care that I kept failing -- like some sort of scare-joy.

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:17am

Nice, creepy game, with some crazy music;) Controls a little bit difficult thou.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:54am

I can feel systemshock soul here)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:06pm

I really like the atmosphere. The approach to gameplay is original, but a little clunky to be honest. Still, I think that the way you need to reload the gun is quite cool! I also thought that the music was unfitting for the overall atmosphere.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:19pm

This is quite brilliant; the tone is off in just the right way. Unlike some, I do like the tank controls, reminds me of Fatal Frame. The reloading mechanic is interesting as well.

What I don't like is restarting from the very beginning, having to replay all the basic fights, just to give the boss another go. I nearly got it on the second run, but couldn't stomach going for a third.

Here are a few suggestions:
- Checkpoints, notably just before the boss.
Or
- Multiple pathways to the boss. Make the level into a bit of a maze where, if you know where to go, you can avert most fights.
And
- Less HP on the rotating four eyed beast. If every eye only took two shots, a skillful player could take that thing down with just one clip. That would be cool.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:40pm

That's some innovative use of the theme. Bit hard tho.
Very atmospheric.

It would be better if action mode was active only when you hold rmb.

Harsay says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Amazing! I love the "spookiness" :D

daveh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:27pm

This is creepy and tense. I love it. :-)

eerongal says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Really interesting game. The mechanics of choosing between movement and shooting and the reload mechanic really helps make the game feel like a "horror" game instead of a FPS style game.

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Playing at night and it was really strashno ^_^
Really like the atmosphere! Good luck!

mr. a says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:40pm

I don't have Windows, but I like what I see.

Alas!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Creepy game. I like the music that starts playing when enemy's appear. I also liked the reloading.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:27am

Lots of really nice ideas here. Nice take on the theme and a good challenge. The visual style worked great, too.

Spooky games like this aren't really my cup of tea, but this one was really well done.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:53pm

Pro:
+ Cool concept
+ Great graphics and sound, giving a nice mood
+ Reload mechanic is very creative
Con:
- A bit hard to maneuver, it would be better with more buttons (although it wouldn't fit the theme and it's awesome how you made a FPS with only 2 buttons, don't know if mouse movement counts as buttons anyway)
Obs:
o Couldn't pass the 2nd "wave"

Awesome job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]