Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fatness - The Epic Buffet Journey (Read Controls)

by Outbreak - Jam Entry

Hello Everyone!

What an awesome Jam this was!

Me and my close friend @Angelbait took a crack at this Ludum Dare.

We made sure that we took it easy this time around as we have both been working like crazy at our day jobs! This game is called Fatness. Its an infinite runner game where you are a fat guy running through an infinite amount of buffet tables!

Object of the game is to avoid the people standing around that are standing around.

Controls:
F - Moves you between the lower and upper lanes in the middle.
J - Teleport to and from the outer lanes(top of the screen or bottom of the screen... see below for example)

The Mechanic with J movement is that if you count the lanes from the top to the bottom:

1 - Top Lane
2 - Top Middle Lane
3 - Bottom Middle Lane
4 - Bottom Lane


F - Will let you rotate between 2 and 3
J - Will get you to the bottom and top using the pairs (1,3) (2,4)

We purposely designed the game this way to make the game a wee bit difficult until you get used to the controls, it adds a minor difficulty that we thought you guys may enjoy.

This is the most challenging part of the game as it takes a second to get your brain to work with it.

Hope you enjoy our little game and Happy Holidays to all!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#313Humor(Jam)3.00
#691Theme(Jam)3.48
#799Innovation(Jam)2.70
#924Graphics(Jam)2.45
#939Fun(Jam)2.57
#943Overall(Jam)2.78
#959Mood(Jam)2.35
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:12am

Very simple game, but the controls made it quite fun to master :)

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:17am

Cool game, took a while to understand controls until I read the description.

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23am

Quite simple, but I enjoyed it. The controls were a bit of a hurdle initially, but made the game more interesting once I had them figured out.

VideoDog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:57am

Good take on the theme. Unfortunately the controls could have used some more work.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:04am

fun game

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:19am

Really simple endless runner game. I liked the main character's visuals. I think the controls make it a bit hard to play, they are really quite unintuitive at first.

sathorn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:37am

Nice game, but the controls are too difficult for my brain to handle.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:21pm

High of 149. Switching to two-handed play made it go a lot easier. My tips: always return to center lane (only leave to avoid big blue) and don't toggle the middle lane until a need arises so you're only focusing on two lanes at a time.

Nice game. :) Only thing I didn't like is occasionally the RNG makes a situation where you have to thread a hairline gap and I've never been able to get past those.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:44pm

I really liked the smooth mechanics of the game! Well done =)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]