Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Skill Clicker

by XtremePrime - Jam Entry

A very simple clicker where you gain experience the more you click.
The game features 3 skills and about 5-7 resources you can train on per skill!
This game is inspired by some popular RPGs, but mainly by Runescape (©Jagex Ltd.)

"Do you like Runescape? Are you a Skiller? You just want something more out of it while cutting away at your yew trees or catching those trouts when powerfishing? Well this game is just for you!"

Controls:
ESC - Go back in the menu/Close the game
Left Click - Interaction

Theme:
*Two Button Control - A bit straight forward here. The entire game is played using the only two available buttons. (Esc and Left Click)
*Growing - Refers to the player's total experience/level growing the more you skill.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#416Humor(Jam)2.81
#528Theme(Jam)3.66
#803Fun(Jam)2.78
#877Mood(Jam)2.62
#879Graphics(Jam)2.63
#907Innovation(Jam)2.47
#1001Overall(Jam)2.69

Comments

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:09am

Nice. Couple of minutes and I am an accomplished lumberjack, fisherman and miner! A real polymath!

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47am

Fun little clicker game. I can stop playing Runescape without EXP wasting! :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:18am

Apparently woodcutting is a much more intense profession than mining and fishing (that +1 xp...). And I think my mouse hates me now...
Idea is good, definitely needs more content though :)

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24am

I dont really understand this kind of game, but it was quite polished. You should develop a money generating application for smartphones.

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30am

Games like this in the jam is how you get sore fingers. Quite well made. Why are humans vulnerable to games like this

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13am

Clicker games are so damn addictive. Props to you!

MacDocBros says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:10pm

I really like clicker games. Good job!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Nice game. It still feels like it has potential though.

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:13am

I like clicker games but usually when they start replacing clicks with automated machines (i.e. Grannies in Cookie Clicker) because my finger hurts haha.

Do the resources you pick matter at all? My finger killed too much for me to dive deep into the content. It would be very interesting for a clicker to have some sort of resource requirements where you couldn't complete all of them (which is the standard clicker formula) or if you used the clicker gameplay but for something like supplying a town with resources that it demands.

PS: Using Right mouse to go back in the menu would be a lot more intuitive too (I think you can still use ESC to exit the game if you're worried about the two-button limit!).

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:31pm

There should be more political games like this

Peekotus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Fun little click game.

martim00 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:02am

Cool game! Music is giving the mood.

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:36am

Nice graphics, but maybe should have a story.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:53am

Kind of irritating. "Life, yet Death" is another "clicker" game like this but it's much nicer in terms of gameplay and presentation.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:51pm

I don't know if this game is working for me... I start at Lvl 0 and I can't seem to change it. :/

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Usually I just break out the old automatic mouse clicker when dealing with clickers (or time wasters as I like to call them), but here even that is unnecessary.

The save file is a plaintext document. It really highlights the uselessness of the endeavor to jump right into level 100 on everything and notice that you missed absolutely nothing.

The one redeeming feature of clickers is uncovering new features (some of which require clicking, some of which don't) and hidden content (usually funny in some way). This one has neither.

You should invest in the payout for clicking. If a player is willing to mindlessly click away for minutes, give them something in return.

Another possibility is to take it into a direction where time (or amount of actions) is limited and the player needs to invest & manage their clicks (currency) carefully.

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:24pm

@TheMonsterFromTheDeep: Delete your savefile in the root of the game and it should be fine :>

@HuvaaKoodia: Thank you for the constructive criticism. I did intend to add more things, but considering the time constraints and because I was in full finals week I just couldn't pull it off. I initially wanted to add system where you could sell the resources tool upgrades that increases your XP gain per click.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]