Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Swarm

by NaoisTheGuardian - Compo Entry

Swarm - A game where you control a swarm of fish, telling them to swarm, or to scatter.

Controls - Up arrow: Scatter and avoid enemies.
Down arrow: Swarm and attack enemies, or when no enemies are present, move downwards.

Enemies will kill your fish, but only at certain times. The swordfish when it is moving, the shark when its mouth is open, and the pufferfish when it is puffed up.

Playing through the game unlocks infinite mode, with a couple of hidden goodies.

If one of the versions doesn't work for you, try the other.

Hope you all enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Innovation3.76
#175Mood3.47
#204Theme4.05
#222Audio3.21
#313Overall3.45
#371Humor2.61
#379Graphics3.29
#380Fun3.29
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:28am

i downloaded the windows and universal versions when I ran each of them a black screen popped up and then closed. sorry I couldn't run your game :(

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

Oh :( Could you run it from cmd for me?

mcmahoniel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:45am

This was a very enjoyable use of the theme! I'm glad I had Java installed. ^_^

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:50am

I had no problems running the game. Just had to make sure that the res order was extracted alongside the jar file. You can't run it from "within" the zip file.

I like the graphics a lot and you did a good job on the swarm movement. I think it looks very organic.

I needed a moment to realize what exactly I had to do and by the time I did, I only had so few fish left that I had trouble to get any lower.
On my second try, once I figured it out, it was very easy to reach the floor though.
Here are my stats:
https://gyazo.com/0bf6c627dfb0b3957d374bf2316ccc06

Good job, especially on the gfx!

fiddenmar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51am

I run you game as java -jar Swarm-1.2-Universal-1200x675.jar on Linux, it's cool but there is no sound. Don't worry, I've listened to all the sounds in resources, they are great.
Here is the terminal log: http://pastebin.com/UrNha4ay

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:52am

This has an cool mood to it and an interesting mechanic. I wasn't sure when I was doing things right, but I suppose that may be the point with a swarm of fish attempting to survive.

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:54am

Interesting concept, nice!

uvwar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:13am

I love flocking! (my first LD game was somewhat similar to this) I wish I could control where I go instead of being 'on rails' but otherwise really fun!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25am

@Mcmahoniel, thanks :)
@timtipgames, thanks for the feedback, and I'm very glad that it looked nice and natural. Btw, that's a really great score!
@fiddenmar, glad it works, but it looks like the natives don't like the way I'm losing the music. Luckily it's running at all! :P
@irwatts, thanks for the feedback :) I can understand that feeling, but if you're careful, there's a surprising amount you can do with the simple controls.
@gironC, thanks :)
@uvwar, I'll have to check that out. The 'rails' unfortunately are somewhat of an unavoidable result of the theme.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28pm

I like the concept, but the fish don't seem to behave correctly. They often return to the center while in avoiding mode, and get themselves eaten.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:46pm

@batmanasb, Yeah, its hard to get the balance right, cause you want them to stick together, but you don't want them to pack into the middle, but thanks for the feedback :)

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01am

Nice fishy game. Wasn't clear how to affect fishes immediately. Nice graphics and sound.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:59am

@Ingon, Thanks, and I can understand what you mean, it's hard with a game like this , given the theme especially.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:28am

Fun game. Felt very rewarding murdering fish

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:39am

@Archonthewizard, Thanks for playing.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:53pm

The theme was interesting to see and it was entertaining! Perhaps a screen that told the player they lost? But it's very good anyway

Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:01am

@equiposalchicha, Thankyou, and I agree, I just couldn't find time to fit it in.

IAmSpencer says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:51am

pretty cool concept, I actually enjoy these types of "hard to control" games [similar to QWOP, TagPro, etc.], and this was a really interesting one.

overall, I enjoyed this and had some pretty good fun, nice work :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eBJmDbHq4GI

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Swarming and scattering looks awesome. Great interpretation of the growing theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]