Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

AutoInvaders

by Sri Harsha Chilakapati - Compo Entry

AutoInvaders is my take on remaking the classic SpaceInvaders game to the concept of the theme 'Two Buttons Controls', and the only controls used are the two ALT keys. The left ALT key does fire, and the right ALT key spawns up the shield.

Being spending too much time on the graphics, I think there are still things that are not polished. I will be adding those elements after the compo.

This game requires Java 8 to run. OS/X users please use the OS/X build. If you download the Linux build, you can run it with java -XstartOnFirstThread -jar AutoInvaders.jar and it should work fine.

This game uses OpenGL 3.3, SilenceEngine 0.4.1b and LWJGL 3.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37am

Okay so I thought this was a pretty cool concept but it was nowhere near feely enough for my tastes. Have a watch of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJdEqssNZ-U

Would have loved some parallax stars and screen-shake. Also I beat the first boss without using the shield just by spamming the shoot key is that supposed to happen?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:10pm

@Doctor_N Thanks for your opinion, and the link. I'm sure I'll get these in for the next compo. The issue here I had this time is spending more time on art and less focus on the game play. There is no difficulty involved, and the level generation is pretty random.

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:00pm

According to Microsoft Security Essentials, this game contains a trojan. I'm not touching it.

Gornova says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15pm

note: this game don't contain any trojan for me, using Windows 8.1 and scanned with microsoft security essentials.

Btw, the game. There are no bugs, graphics is good and sounds okay. Lack of gameplay, in particular new weapons, force boredom on my, sorry!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:07am

Akhera> Windows 8.1 does that for any unsigned EXE. Just ignore it.

Akhera says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15am

@sP0CkEr2 - I'm on Windows 7 and this didn't happen with any other games I rated.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Okay, interesting take on an old classic. Quickly becomes very repetitive though :)

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:04am

I'm glad there's a Mac version, but my laptop definitely doesn't have two Alt keys.

Adreqi says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:36pm

quite the same as memoryLeaks. plus nice soundtrack :)

Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:07am

Sticks to the theme. I had a hard time timing my shield at the start of a level, so could've used a simple countdown mechanic of some sort. Nice job.

jachepe says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:25am

Good game! maybe is not very innovation but is a solid game. Good work!

miwuc says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Nice game with polished presentation, nice audio, even has a boss fight. I kind of liked the concept but at the same time it felt a bit slow, static and too easy. It would be nice to have more action and visual effects, power ups and whatnot (but of course that's hard to do in 48 hours).

Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:00am

Nice straightforward idea. That incoming wave patterning is nice!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]