Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Plants Attack

by Luxorix - Compo Entry

Unsuccessful experimentation in the laboratory caused the attack plants. 2 control buttons - a maximum of fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#113Fun3.72
#142Graphics3.86
#157Theme4.10
#178Audio3.36
#188Humor3.08
#202Overall3.62
#228Mood3.36
#557Innovation3.04

Comments

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:59am

Awesome game! Love the art style and gameplay. Really fun.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:09am

Nice! The player's collision against the obstacles is quite a bit too sensitive and got me killed a few times. Otherwise a solid entry!

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10am

Great art. Wish your guy could move faster.

beastletsplay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:05am

really good art, but i don't know whats up with the blue potions randomly giving either +1 hp or -1 hp. Apart from that it was a pretty good game.

Khamekaze says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:58am

Great graphics and fluid controls, love it

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:01am

Cool game. Great work. Get challenging, but at a good pace.

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26am

Simple mechanic, easy to understand, but quite addicted.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56am

I like this old school comical art style, good work

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Pretty game with simple but addictive gameplay, like it! The electro shocker things are very satisfying :)

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:55am

Really cool game. Nice balance of risk-reward through the electricity things, especially in the later phases. It looks so polished and crisp with a smooth transition from starting screen to gameplay and great soundtrack.
I'm impressed! :)

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:26pm

good enough

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:32am

One of the best. Have fun , beautiful!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:02am

Great game, loved playing it. My only complaint... instadeath! Would be nice to have some sort of shield/life scenario, having to restart for a minor electric shock is a little irritating. Other than that though, great effort really enjoyed playing it :)

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:32am

Quite fun, the only complaint is the permadeath!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I like it!
Was a little jarring to get killed out of the blue by it shooting but a really nice well presented package.
Cool audio and graphics!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:38am

Nice game. Love the art & animations. The difficulty progression is well done. Cool sound effects.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:24am

Nice looking endless runner with a lot of cool mechanics, recipe for success.

Simonaiso says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:12am

Funny game! bit difficult sometimes, but rewarding enough to keep me going for a while.

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Amazing work! Love all the mechanics you added - they seem to work really well, especially with how the difficulty progresses and your decisions are forced to be quicker.

Awesome art, has music, runs great, fits the themes, is quite fun... you really have it all, don't you!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]