Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BOOM BOAT

by bryantdrewjones - Jam Entry

​You are a boat. Blow up other boats. But don't crash into other boats.

Use the arrow keys to move, or the triggers on a game pad.

Hold both arrow keys/triggers down to explode.

Explode near other boats to start chain reactions.

Crashing into another boat or exploding costs a heart. Make long chain reactions to get more hearts.

Art by Monsieur.N (Nicolas Nowak) (https://twitter.com/nowk_n)
Audio by Lindar K. Greenwood (http://soundcloud.com/lindarthebard & https://twitter.com/lindarthebard)
Code by Bryant Drew Jones (https://twitter.com/sprybry)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#127Overall(Jam)3.80
#133Audio(Jam)3.78
#167Theme(Jam)4.08
#175Fun(Jam)3.62
#191Humor(Jam)3.35
#195Graphics(Jam)4.04
#218Mood(Jam)3.61
#290Innovation(Jam)3.44
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Cool and original idea. Fun to play, nice art and a fitting soundtrack.

Perf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Simple, yet effective, with a nice art and soundtrack. Quicly becomes addictive and would be amazing on phone and tablet !
Good job

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:37pm

nice game! :)

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:21am

Collisions felt a bit strange at time, and I occasionally found myself crashing as soon as invulnerability wore off, which tended to be a problem as many times I was respawning in to a huge cluster of ships, but other than that this game was very well put together. I enjoyed seeing the explosions continue towards the edge of the screen and it was very rewarding to earn enough points to gain an extra life. Overall very enjoyable game!

Echo Team says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:04am

Cute. No need to include the debug files though ;)

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:04am

Fun addicting game. So satisfying to watch the chain reactions go by. Fun looking animations too, love the pixel art.

logorrhea says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:37am

Very nice work! I love your art. It all fits together very nicely.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:14am

Gorgeous art! Gameplay was fun and addicting, though I did have some disassociation of where I thought the ship would go after a turn and where it actually went.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:31am

This game is strangely addictive. I loved getting a massive chain reaction that kept destroying the new boats entering the screen. Artwork and music/sound was awesome too. Great job!

Lullaby says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:02pm

This was really cool, really liked it the graphics and mood are great!

Well done!

(hello d'indiemag^^)

Eingya says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:15am

Good game. Great visuals and love the risk/reward mechanic duality of avoiding and exploding

Well done!

Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:41am

once i understood that i needed to press both buttons to self detonate and therefore get points, that game was freaking awesome. i definitely think it would be nice to have the rules/instructions pop up every time the game starts, or even just make it clearer that you won't get any score unless you press both buttons

pzeronow says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Very cool stuff. Quite entertaining. Loved the art.

Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Really nice game. Like the mechanic for making you want to stay close to lots of bombs.

amras0000 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:43pm

It took me a few tries before I realized that when I pressed both arrow keys, exploded, and had the entire screen explode with me, I wasn't actually winning anything. Got really confused as to why I didn't get hearts. Once I figure out that I had to charge up an explosion the game went more smoothly.

The control scheme primarily was a substantial bugbear. After I finished turning, there'd be about a second during which I couldn't turn again, which made the controls feel really stiff and unpleasant.
Also, it would've been nice to have a bit more visual feedback on the explosion radius of various ships. Add a shockwave graphic to show how far they reach, maybe.

Jan 16, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Simple, well made game, with lovely graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/jZIKMICuSkI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]