Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Arc

by ChuiGum - Compo Entry

*Headphones Recommended*

POST COMPO: DIFFERENT COLORS, NEW POWER UPS/POWER DOWNS, MORE MUSIC, AND MULTIPLAYER! Check it out! c:

I will probably keep updating it though too.

*Fullscreen tends to work better by the way.

This is my 8th Ludum Dare. If you were here for the last Ludum Dare, I made 'Perspective.'

Arc is a Simple, Classic, ARCade Game (see what I did there). Escape from your Arc before it closes on you! Don't crash into another Arc though. Dash to another Arc for score, and collect Gold for extra score. Get the Power Ups, but watch out for the Power Downs. The Power Ups and Power Downs are filled circles but with each one a different color. Which one is which you ask? Figure it out yourself. c:

Funny thought; my name is Noah, so this game could also be called, Noah's Arc.

INSTRUCTIONS: Left, Right, Up, and Down Arrow Keys to move, and P to Pause.

THEME: I already had the idea for this game before LD, so I didn't even really care about the theme. Feel free to rate theme though.

I'm planning to make this game for Mobile Devices including iOS and Android.

Let me know what your High Score is in the comments please! You may not believe it but, my Best is 54. c:

And if you've streamed this game on Twitch already, let me know in the comments.

Follow me on Twitter: @ccolongames

Become a Patron: patreon.com/ccolongames

Check out my other LDs or some other games I've made, at: ccolongames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#103Audio3.64
#155Innovation3.72
#224Fun3.52
#308Overall3.46
#329Mood3.19
#364Graphics3.32
#627Humor2.02
#950Theme2.19

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33am

This is difficult as hell! But in a good make-me-want-to-best-the-damned-thing way! I would love this as some sort of mobile game.

Levithan6785 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33am

Didn't know exactly what to do when the game started. But I found in enjoyable for a little while.

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36am

Wow, hard, will take me some time to feel good at it. Very clever idea!

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37am

For some reason, I can't control anything.

JanGames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37am

Wow, this game is hard. Nice graphics and sound.

Ko_ry says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46am

Is anybody else having trouble playing with Firefox? Nothing seems to happen for me with it. I just see falling arcs, can't move anything.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:56am

Those who found a bug, thanks for letting my know! I'm pretty sure I fixed it.

molecats says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58am

wow really awesome concept :)
hard and awsm!!!

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01am

I love the concept. And the music. Couldn't control anything in Firefox though, in Chrome in worked.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22am

Super fun game play. I could see this being an addictive mobile game. Nice work

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25am

I'm in firefox and running from the LD website. Can't move.

edriavw says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27am

interesting concept but too hard, maybe a bit slowed down at the beginning?

tankete says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:39am

Love the music. High score = 12. Nice job!

tuben999 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:16am

Very hard but a well done game! good job :)

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42am

Wow, this is really good and polished! It would make a superb mobile game! Addicting as hell :D

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Same issue as xWarZonex on Win/Firefox - arrow keys just scroll the game window around and don't move the dot. Looks kind of interesting though.

Nanocryk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:06pm

This game don't work on firefox but I tested it on chrome ...
It's freaking good ! And hard ! ... but good !
And the music is juste awesome ...

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Fun and innovative game mechanics! Pretty tricky and infuriating but makes me want to keep coming back to try again.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:51am

Firefox bug is fixed! :D

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:02am

Thanks for fixing the firefox bug. This is an awesome game approach and is pretty addicting. Although I wouldn't say it fits the theme, using 4 buttons.

OkaDoka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20am

And after playing, I have determined I will loose about 10 hours this week to this alone

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:27am

Hard but really fun. Simple and good design. Not sure about the theme though...

Mat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59am

OMG so difficult! Really nice BTW :D

emmes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51am

Cool, fresh idea, driving music (would be nothing without), simple, but effective graphics.
Only downside is it's only very loosely based on the theme. Doesn't matter too much.
And I find it pretty har^B^B^Bchallenging. :-)

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45am

The game is really hard. Maybe, you should prevent circles from closing, as it kinda breaks the gameplay : sometimes, when you're jumping, you get "killed" because the circle grows between you pressing the key and your avatar going through.

Nice arcade feeling overall though, makes you want to try hard.

mattrified says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59am

The music is awesome, but the theme and it doesn't seem to relate. It has this sinister circus theme, but I feel the art could be pushed further to tie it to that or some other theme.

Also the game is really hard. A health system would have benefited I think.

Overall though, nice job!

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43am

GOOD GRAVY THIS IS HARD. I think my current high score is like 6? I'll be coming back to this again later when I'm more awake/less exhausted. Your presentation is excellent though! Graphics are crisp and smooth, and the music is catchy. Nice one :]

careless says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Excellent entry! Did not notice at first that the hole to pass through was getting smaller was so focused on watching the adjacent circle spinning.

Graphics are simple but suit the game type perfectly, controls work great.

I think this would work well on a mobile device, would seriously consider porting it was very addictive. The screen shake added to the difficulty!

Will keep playing only at a best of 11 at the moment.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:15pm

A nice looking game, with a simple but efficient gameplay. No bugs and great work on sound.
Good job! And yes, that's too difficult, but that's what make this game so cool!

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:26am

Innovative and stylish. Good job.

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:27am

So hard but soooo fun. Great game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24am

Very polished game. Music and art were very well done. I could have gone for an easy mode =P

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:32am

Amazing entry overall. Great music, great mechanics, great aesthetic (the logo is awesome, and not a lot of LD games concern themselves with branding, but I think it really paid off for you).

Great job! You should continue with it and release it on mobile!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Very nice concept! Easy to understand but hard to perform. Graphics are tight, music also really cool.

My high score is 5 :S

Well done!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Simple and effective! great music

CMG says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Extremely difficult, but a nice smooth design and good music!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:07pm

I like the hypnotic atmosphere and the gameplay seems to me really interesting, but I cannot play. When I press a key to start, nothing reacts. Sometimes I lose quickly, but the R key doesn't work. I don't understand where is the problem. I wait before to evaluate your project ++

rkhadder says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Really well balanced; its hard but not too hard

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Cool concept! A bit hard to master! But surely it's well done and the music is also awesome! :D Good job! Keep up the good work!

adaFish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:09pm

This game was addictive but extremely challenging. Also a fresh take on the them. I love the color palette & the music as well.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Don't really care for having to remember which color is which power-up, but this is otherwise perfect. I will definitely be coming back to this after the judging period.

I'd like to see an AI play this... I'm curious if it's possible or even likely to get into unwinnable situations.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:10pm

This game is punishingly hard! I think on the whole that fits its style very well, but some progression would be nice - perhaps have it start slowly, and make the whole game world accelerate with each point scored?

It's super addictive, though, and looks and sounds great. Good job!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:16pm

awesome! very creative concept, very challenging, well done :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Fun game, but very difficult. My best score is only 3.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Fun idea. The kind of game easy to learn and hard to master.
I was a bit disapointed that it didn't fit the theme, but you have been honest with it, good point for you!
Thanks for the game.

ajmalr says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Extremely difficult yet fun and addictive!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Very simple, very hard, but fun to try make a better score. :)

MrMordem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Woah nice job, a bit hard but really fun to play, good replayability too.

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:43pm

So hard! I could get about 4 before I got trapped in, I enjoyed it though.
judged on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706, watch the highlight to see me play

Melusine says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:07am

difficult but a great game

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:15am

This is madness!!

Insanely difficult and very fun concept. It doesn't really fit the theme, but the entry is awesome.

lawendt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:23am

Great gameplay!

gkxd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:33am

Didn't see much of the theme here, but it's still a fun game.

My high score is 5. I think because the game is so difficult, a lot of people (me included) don't see everything the game has to offer.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:56am

A no-bullshit arcade game/reflex test.

The fundamentals check out, it kept me trying for a while. The visual style has a distinct personality to it, and the palette is fairly tasteful. Music's alright, gives this a fittingly tense touch.

So yeah, this is a solid entry. It's just that I can't really see a connection to the theme(s).

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:09am

Really tricky but really fun. My high score was 4.

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:45am

SUPER hard, and I'm terrible at video games. But an incredibly creative concept, brought to a polish not usually seen in Ludum Dare games. The GUI when you lose is beautiful and different. Crazy (and awesome) music that fits the crazy gameplay. Some feedback (like a sound or screen shake) would really aid the game feel when you lose, though. All in all, a solid game. Nice work!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Very difficult game but fun once you get the hang of it. Nice graphics and really like the concept.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Totally wasted. My highscore is 1. That's bad I know, but I guess I'm just bad at these kind of games.

Downloadable version would be nice, cause when run in browser UP and DOWN scrolls the page... that's not right.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Now it works. I like this minimalist gameplay and background music. Maybe too hard. You could decrease difficulty and increase it progressively. Overall, it's really good ++

DrFallos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:03am

The game is difficult. You have done a nice work!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:41pm

This was absolutely fun to play. Loved the simple to pick up yet hard to master mechanics.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:51am

Loved the concept! Soooo hard but fun! Loved the colors you used and the music. You did a great job at capturing frantic anxiety driven chaos. Great job!

Acuity says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:24am

Interesting concept, but not sure if it is really related to either theme..

Pusty says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:16pm

not sure how this fits the theme but I think it's a nice concept non then less. Good job!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Cool concept with good execution. The music fits very well.

This game is certainly hard, though. I also can't really tell what are power-ups or power-downs, or what any of them do. :P

scottthoo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:25am

Hell hard.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:42am

really fun and challenging :) nice work.

EwChap says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:32am

Great game. Not much on the theme but you owned up to that. Very difficult at first but once you get going its quite fun.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:25am

Innovative, simple and nice graphics. But way too hard for my taste.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:43am

this is hard as hell but a cool idea and the visuals are simple but great!

Anachron says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:58am

Awesome, just awesome!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:06am

Great concept, but too hard.

hexagore says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:06pm

This works as a prototype of a mechanic - I don't recall ever seeing it before. Whether it really works in this visual style, with this music, as a sort of ultra-hard rage game I'm not so sure though. I found it to be basically too irritating to want to keep playing, which is sad because I feel like the underlying mechanic could be a lot of fun to practice and get better at.

Obviously you already realise this doesn't fit either theme, at all.

So, basically, top marks for innovation but I hope you can work on accessibility for future games.

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Nice, but very hard, and not obvious what to do at the beginning!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:05pm

I like the presentation of this game. Good sense of graphic design. Nice soundtrack too. I would say it starts off too difficult, I think it needs to gradually ramp up as you progress from the beginning.

camlang says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:21pm

That's a clever idea and neat implementation. For a more finished game though you need to control the difficulty. Maybe some arcs will be more open others less.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Woah, that music startled me. Maybe turn the volume a bit down, and I'm not sure it entirely fits the game. The concept reminds me of another mobile game, I think it was called "one more dash", just thought maybe you wanted to know.
The game is really damn difficult and that power-down that reflects the player back always killed me, so I just started to avoid all power-ups/downs. My best score was 16.

ianh says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:29am

Addictive game! My high score (so far!) is 15. I don't think it's too hard at all; it's really fun when you start getting in the zone and making decisions quickly. Three small bits of feedback... feel free to ignore them if you want, the game is really fun as is! First, the Power Downs make "exploring" less fun, since you don't know whether something's a Power Up or a Power Down until you touch it. It would be nice if Power Downs looked different, like a spiky ball or something. Or maybe you could try leaving them out? Second, the collision detection feels pretty strict. Making it more lenient could make close calls more exciting. Third, I wish you could restart the game immediately after dying (like Super Hexagon :).

Anyway, super fun game: I think it would work great on a mobile device!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:30pm

You got my first 5* in innovation :-)
Music is very very cool! Difficulty could be at the beginning a little easy.
Great game, love it!!

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Great music and mood!

Levi D. Smith says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:55am

Neat little puzzle game.

Muel says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:20am

Damn, dude, this is Contra hard!

My max: 7 ;-;

Great job!

mr. a says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:03am

Brilliant!

My highest so far is 11.

Wishlist:
- instant restart (or at least less than .25s on death screen)
- 3 speed/difficulty choices, with current difficulty at medium.

Definitely consider selling this for mobile devices.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:21am

Fun, yet challenging. Nice job!

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:45am

awesome game with neat graphics and cool sounds.. but very difficulty to score double digit though

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:35am

Music is nice. Fun, simple and challenging idea, but... I don't think my brain does this. Is there mode for slow dumb dumbs? ;)

Zyow says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:29pm

15! Hard game but fun with good sound!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:39pm

This game is ready for the mobile stores of the world. Such a great vibe it has.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:18am

Great game! Too hard though. I really enjoy your game!

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:23am

Wow that was hard but I couldn't stop trying to have a better score! Nice :)

Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:27am

Intense, frustrating, difficult but I couldn't turn away. It sucked me in and wouldn't let me go until I proved to myself that I could break a score of ten. Great music too!

psychonull says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:14am

wow soo addictive, great idea and execution, loved the music too. Seems to be a good game for mobile doing swap to the sides and no theme (yeah I know you put it on the desc xD), you made me laugh at desc also lol.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Interesting, difficult and creative game! Good job

Gunzil says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:19am

This game starts out difficult and gets even harder. The power-downs are especially brutal. I got caught hitting the very edge of the arcs sometimes, it would have been nice to have more lenient collision detection when you just barely tap one of the sides.

The music and brutal-fast gameplay make for a very hectic arcade experience. Quite nice.

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:39am

This is great! Clear idea that turns out to be really challenging to play. The art's simple, but it's clean, and the music adds some tension to it as well.

euske says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Whoa, this is a game. I mean, if people want to play a game, people should play this game. Totally irrelevant to the theme, but just look at it. This game. This is a game and nothing but a game. Whoa.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:27am

Fun, but very challenging. Things moved extremely fast and for my first few tries I didn't hardly make it anywhere. There was also a bad imbalance in the amount of powerups vs, powerdowns and as such I often went to what I thought would help me only to lose my run to it. Fortunately, being able to restart as quickly as I was prevented losing from being irritating.

The graphics were interesting however, and the music was excellent; very much enjoyed listening to it.

Overall, great entry - would love to see it continued.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:49am

Simple and very challenging!

Dejvo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:02am

superb game well put together but incredibly difficult and im not sure if it fits any of the themes

danbolt says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:12am

Oh man, this game is hard, but the good kind of hard! To be honest, I felt like I was too slow to make anything hit right. Still, a really good idea. I liked the game a lot. The bright colours, plus the style of the graphics really matches well with Helvetica.

Compo games typically provide source code with their submissions, so I've left the Overall score as N/A for now. If you add the source link, please let me know and I'll rate it!

akirassasin says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:47am

The next Flappy Bird... :P

Knowledge says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:46am

Cool game, my record is 13.

Kerdelos says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:51pm

God, it's so hard. It makes me crazy as hell. But great game anyway, I just can't see the theme here ?

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Very challenging game!

My best was 10!

Consistent game with nice concept!

Congratulations!

KZdev says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:35pm

High score 6! I suck at this. It's pretty fun though, and I love the music.

terryg says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:07am

My son and I kept playing this. Very addictive. He was able to get to 15. I could only get to 13. Great concept.

phi says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:41am

Great concept, intuitive design, overall well done! It's just too fast for me... and the music doesn't help either. :P An easy mode to practice would be nice.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Solid entry, though I don't see the theme in it. Maybe make it slightly slower at the beginning? :<

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Simple, fun, challenging game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/ONV56vKkbDk

Warboys says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Jesus effing Christ this is hard. Brilliant game concept and it feels pretty tight, although I'd 100% make the music less obnoxious because it felt like some dude was prodding my brain with a needle while I was trying to concentrate super hard. This game rewards patience and the music made me insane :P

Great job though, solid concept and it's devilishly addictive despite making me cry for 5-10 minutes. I got 5 as my best score, pathetic but I ain't got the patience for this!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:24pm

To me ignoring the theme and just making a game you wanted to make is pretty lame...

torcado194 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:05am

pretty interesting! the music is nice but doesnt really fit in my opinion. dying is pretty anticlimactic, could feel more powerful. and also i have no idea how this related to either theme
otherwise it looks and plays interesting!

yuigoto says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:13am

This is quite challenging! :P I can see this as a mobile game, but I wonder how this could be played on a mobile. :P

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Neat concept and good realisation! The audio is extra good! You should add more screenshake,

Oye Beto says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 1:04am

I don't see the theme but I liked your game. I only got 5 points, it's hard :o

Music was my favorite part.

oparisy says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Gosh, why so hard? Increasing difficulty progressively would have been more welcoming, but hey, masocore is all the rage. Great music, I see you used FL Studio.

ranmaru90 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:29pm

WOW. This game is a masochist's dream come true!!! Harder than Dark Souls! Really love the idea although it has nothing to do with either theme!! Pretty awesome!

Madball says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Reminds me of flappy bird: seems difficult, needs concentration, addicting. I think I'll be back for a higher score (13 for now).

The music is awesome. Gameplay is great, too.

acotis says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:47am

Gah! Game had me rhythmically banging my head in frustration. I guess the key is to slow down and not get impatient waiting for the holes to line up :P I don't see how this relates to either theme, though?

Madball says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:27am

I'm back. Got 35 points.
It's kinda disappointing that off-screen objects despawn. I guess that was made to avoid situations when the player traps himself, but I often find myself making a detour to collect many powerups, and I don't want them to despawn.

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:37pm

A fun and challenging game. Seems well balanced!

I'm not sure what I think of the powerup system, but I don't think it should be about guessing or remembering which colors do what.

I had to play in Chrome because there were lag spikes in Firefox. Your post-mortem didn't work in Firefox at all o_o. Everything worked fine in Chrome though.

All in all, great little game! Best of luck!! Hope to see this on mobile ;)

agilejoshua says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:55am

Way too difficult - needs additional easy levels... But good fun all the same, fun concept.

Skaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Oh my god, am I so bad? 7? REALLY?

UncleChris says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:21pm

I really enjoyed it - and liked how the arc got smaller, preventing me from sitting in a circle waiting for the "perfect" time. Very Hard, but actually quite fun. The audio is VERY good - sets the right mood, happy with a little frantic. Very good.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:32pm

I'm no fan of gameplay based on waiting and timing your moves (old platform games tended to have parts like that). So... this has too frustrating gameplay, and not bothering about following the theme... But I like the visual design and the music fits the stressful gameplay.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Not much relation to the theme (which is kind of missing the point of Ludum Dare). I found this really fun-- like Super Hexagon but not crazy hard. Kind of a snake-y sort of challenge to it too.

ViKing Games says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:00pm

This game is super simple and loads of fun. If it was on mobile devices, I'd play it all the time.

The music fit very well, and the use of the growing theme was also very creative. Two-button controls could have been added easily, but I think it's better that you didn't include that theme.

srakowski says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:01am

I am so terrible at this terribly good game! Well done on everything (sans the theme as you mentioned). I like the arc closes on you forcing you to make your move fast. Great design. Good job!

Solifuge says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:02am

Audio was great, but kinda clashed with the mood. Did set a pretty anxious tone though! Great arcade style gameplay. Powerups were trolly, but discovering them was fun. Thanks for putting this together!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]