Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow The Horde

by filthsu - Jam Entry

In Grow The Horde, your task is to control the zombie horde on its endless journey to kill or infect everyone around and keep the zombie outbreak going strong!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#117Graphics(Jam)4.23
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#262Fun(Jam)3.48
#325Overall(Jam)3.52
#383Humor(Jam)2.88
#465Innovation(Jam)3.21
#582Audio(Jam)2.81
#627Mood(Jam)3.08

Comments

gmisail says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:13am

In love with the graphics! However, the high-res text seems out of place in a low-res game.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:30am

Great game. Very fun!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03am

Nice graphics!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48am

That was fun ... 3D even.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:48am

Awesome graphics! Some sound would be nice. Cool idea, but found it pretty difficult. Wow - it even runs great wide screen, triple monitors :)

SoulBound says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04am

Very fun. I would have loved some music, but that is the only thing I can complain about. The graphics where amazing and I loved the gameplay.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:19am

Wow!! Awesome graphics!!

But gameplay controls are difficult to get!

muit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:59am

The Gameplay and performance wasnt so good, but loved the graphic style and the idea

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:08pm

BRAIN !!!!! EAT BRAIN !! :)

deadpixl says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Over all the art is awesome! I really liked the mechanics as well, but I got stuck a few times and couldn't progress. Also a if the texture for the zombies that stood out more, that would of been nice. Over all great work!

avocadojoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40pm

nice game

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Great fun. Very original approach to age old genre - rejuvenating :)
Great use of theme, controls slightly, but great.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Graphics are very nice, game has play-ability and its very fun to play.

colinator27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:03pm

This game looks awesome, I love the 3D art style! I like how you used the two themes for this game as well! :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36am

Very fun, graphics really look good. The controls were a little weird, but it's great fun. Good job.

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Hooray! \o/

redzero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Awesome concept! It would be great if the horde could stick together. I left a bunch of zombies behind because they're slow and do not follow up. Some music would also be nice.

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:20pm

the game is great!
i would only adjust the controls, especially when you have to control more than one zombie...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]