Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Mess With Totems

by wine - Jam Entry

​Two button vertical platformer game. Adventure of a small brave hedgehog who's fearless hunting for his Nut on dangerous growing totem!

Controls:
X or Up- jump, hold to double jump,
Z or M - dash to the opposite side​

Game by Noclip: Aleksey Stepanov - code, Ekaterina Frolova - art
Special thanks for the "SimpleStamp" font by Oleg Stepanov

Made With Unity
Free music by Blue Dot Sessions
--- --- ---

* Thorns
Sorry for the bug with RNG - when you cannot avoid thorns
We played around with different ideas way too long, and simply ran out of time :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#5Graphics(Jam)4.82
#26Theme(Jam)4.40
#37Overall(Jam)4.08
#77Mood(Jam)3.95
#142Humor(Jam)3.55
#156Fun(Jam)3.66

Comments

Rnd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15am

Cool game...

Monsieur.N says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

Ok, first it's absolutely pretty, the graphics are really cool (congrats to the graphic artist) and the sound design really follow this atmosphere.

Speaking about atmosphere, I love the way you've mixed a peaceful and a more and more difficult/stressful gameplay.

The gameplay by the way is pretty simple (even if the action to go at the other side of the Totem was cool and needed some practice) but effective. So an other good point!

Nice job comrades, I'll follow your future project with joy! ;)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:42am

Visual aesthetic is over awesome. Gameplay is solid and consistent. My best record is 9th totem. Not too much I think. It hard to avoid thorns when they on both sides.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52am

It's amazing, I love the gameplay *and* idea, *and* the control scheme, and of course the graphics, they're SO professional. Bravo, Ekaterina, bravo Aleksey and Alyeg

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03am

i love all. Awesome graphics, nice gameplay, really good job to all :D

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06am

Beautiful, wonderful game! I LOVE it, it's a very good idea, and the art is amazing, it moves super good, it's dynamic, Congrats!!

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35am

Very nice work, nice graphics and mood and challenge!

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:43am

Very cool game, the graphics are amazing! Am I right that it's randomly generated? Because not once did I have the problem that there was no way to continue, thorns on both sides. The slowing time is a bit irritating after the 3th time I think, but whatever. Nice game all around, thanks for making it!

OwT says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Awesome graphics, it's really beautiful and so colorful! And that music is so nice :) I wanted that nut, I really wanted to give it it to that fuzzy ball, so I was keep playing and playing and... This game is nuts! XD

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Amazing art and mood! Good job guys

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56pm

This looks gorgeous! Well Done!

Game is also quite fun!

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Nice entry, Sometimes you cannot avoid thorns :(, Very nice effects and graphics! Nice work!

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:57pm

So Pretty ! Nice polishd game and cool grph and gameplay, love it!

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:59pm

A very Monkey Islandish vibe, I like it very much.

Dege says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01pm

The Graphic is gorgeous and I really love it!
The idea is really nice.
The controls feels not so reactive to me.
There are lose conditions where the player feels that the game is unfair (thorns on both side...)

Janacek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Pretty game :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Well...yeah...absolutely nothing bad to say or to critique or to improve.
Fantastic visuals, solid gameplay, very polished, very amusing, this can actually be put in a store as-is.
Very very well done!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Wow! I always love it when someone combines gorgeous graphics with simplistic gameplay. Absolutely beautiful!

djfariel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:09pm

One of the most unique games I've played so far, a lot of fun. Only two complaints: 1. The controls could be more responsive, and 2. Sometimes the next falling totem has spikes that reach down and kill me before I have a chance to react to the next challenge. Since the game requires fine tuned control, the character controller response needs to be very accurate. Other than that, flawless. A great entry.

limered says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Wow, just wow. Beatiful graphics, challanging, solid gameplay and fun! Nicely done.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:16pm

So far coolest I've rated (from the 5 previous but still).

winesays says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33pm

--- --- Tnanks & Thorns --- ---

Great thanks for all your kind words guys!
We can't stop smiling reading new comments :)

Sorry for the bug with RNG - when you cannot avoid thorns.
We played around with different ideas way too long, and simply ran out of time

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Can't figure out how to pass this: http://i.imgur.com/ONYfdt5.jpg

but otherwise, awesome game.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Woaw, ok you won! Very professional and mostly fitting the theme of the jam. Graphics and audio are exceptionnal! Could be a Rayman game (with these typos) ^^ Just too bad there's some situations where we can't escape death (stuck by a wall in one side and by thorns on the other side :/). Anyway.. Very well done!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:49pm

This is excellent!
Amazing graphics and simple and fun gameplay.
- Don't quite like the music, effects are cool though.

vidarn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Wow!
So polished, so much fun!
Great job!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11pm

wow. Thats some serious graphics skill.

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Beautiful graphis and sound, I found it a bit hard and don't passed the first 'osbtacle' got 10 totems. Some kind of lag and didnt get able to jump. But overall is awesome!

philipp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Absolutly stunning art. Gameplay quite simple though

Lo-X says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Okay, at firt, the game is beatiful. But it only gets better once you play :D The game is original and addictive. A really good mood for a really good job!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:41pm

This game is amazing! The art is incredible, as well as the music and sounds. The GameFeel is also very good.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Your game is absolutely beautiful and very funny. The only criticism I have is that the randomly generated nature of the level generates impossible situations, either where there are thorns on both side close enough that you can't swing around the totem without getting hit, or a totem is shifted so that you can only go up one side but there are thorns at the bottom. In the end, the highest I got was 20.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12pm

oh man this was amazing. i have no idea how you made such stunning art in 72 hours, and then made a pretty good (if simple) game on top of that. bravo.

Tuism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:41pm

On OSX... Downloaded, unRARd into two files, both of them doesn't run :/

Bastionride says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49pm

This nut is so cute.

Tuism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Off the charts! So pretty! The effects are great! The mechanics are spot on! There's even humour! You've got everything!

I really wanna know if you ever can get to the nut. Because I really feel like I can. Until I realise it was an endless runner.

Sometimes the setup feels really too difficult for the imprecise controls. Sometimes the thorns just end up giving you a small ass gap which basically felt impossible.

The one thing I would really want to see is a bit of button memory, or "forgiveness" on pressing too early. Say I want to jump again right when I land, I have to hit the button EXACTLY THERE or else you'll slide a bit, and if you're jumping right behind a thorn bit, then you're screwed. Many games have this thing where if you press again mid-jump, it'll remember you did that and jump as soon as you land. Fighting games have that especially.

So yeah. SHIP IT! I TOTALLY WANT IT :D

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Very good and interesting game. Nice graphics and gameplay. Very well selected music. Great job!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Wonderful graphics, the jump mechanic and RNG are harsh.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

That's a lovely totem. Game felt really adorable, however there isn't much to do, so I didn't play a lot of it! I think the game mostly thrives in graphics and audio.

Kimau says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27pm

That feels slick, the humour is great spot on for the theme and overall just a fabulous game! Really top notch.

lawendt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Loved it!

hiki911 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32pm

like this game, gorgeus graphics, but controls is a little bit uncomfortable (require some space between keys)

Zulgot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Wow awesome graphics, nice music and pretty challenging - excelent game! :)

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Beautiful Artwork! Good gameplay! Sometimes it wasn't possible to progress. Stuck to the theme well!

Chewie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Visual are great, colorful and polished.
Controls scheme is easy but I think double jump by holding X isn't the best choice, players are used to double click.
Sometimes obstacles on totems line up in the way that cant be jumped through.

Overall it great looking nice game, good job guys ;)

Tuism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Off the charts! So pretty! The effects are great! The mechanics are spot on! There's even humour! You've got everything!

I really wanna know if you ever can get to the nut. Because I really feel like I can. Until I realise it was an endless runner.

Sometimes the setup feels really too difficult for the imprecise controls. Sometimes the thorns just end up giving you a small ass gap which basically felt impossible.

The one thing I would really want to see is a bit of button memory, or "forgiveness" on pressing too early. Say I want to jump again right when I land, I have to hit the button EXACTLY THERE or else you'll slide a bit, and if you're jumping right behind a thorn bit, then you're screwed. Many games have this thing where if you press again mid-jump, it'll remember you did that and jump as soon as you land. Fighting games have that especially.

So yeah. SHIP IT! I TOTALLY WANT IT :D

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52pm

This might be the nicest looking game I've seen this far in this Ludum Dare! Nice atmosphere, and enjoyable game/controls. The difficulty curve didn't work out so well for me though, it was mostly quite easy to jump along, and then suddenly a two-bush-combo appeared on both sides with a tiny distance between which always killed me (I realised now that you mentioned that in the text). I think you have almost all in place here. Some polish on the difficulty curve, and it is ready to market!

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Great entry ! Amazing art and mood. Some tricky situations come to disturb my sessions : the squirrel falls off the screen if I stop pressing x at the beginning and the game doesn't restart.

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58pm

What else can i say what the others didnt already said? Except for: 14!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Special effects are awesome and soundtrack very relaxing.

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Perfect sound/fx combination!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Awesome. really fun! Is there an ending? In my dreams there's an ending and I can get past totem block #9 :)

Arowx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Excellent work.

wilsk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Looks fantastic!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:28pm

I love this one, the visuals are just beautiful, and the mechanics are great: simple, they really fit the theme and they're challenging. I also appreciated the humorous touches, congratulations for a solid entry! :D

atrodo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Awesome job, really fun and easy to learn.

nelskj says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Nice game and poor squirrel! Great graphisms and intuitive gameplay.

Pusty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Beautiful! Nice to play! Overall amazing!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Gorgeous game. My best was 35, but I had a lucky string of totems. The ZX keys cramped up my hand pretty quick, putting the keys on opposite sides would help. Nice job!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Wonderful game! Had a very cozy atmosphere to it.

On occasion, I find a shifted edge of the totem above me too hard to jump over, but I can't warp to the other side because there are spikes there. This is fortunately very occasional, and I otherwise really enjoyed this game!

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Very beautiful game! It seems a bit broken though, Around 6 or 7 I always seem to get a vine I can't avoid.. If you fix that bug you'd have a perfect game!

Soron says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Absolutely beautiful graphics. I am impressed.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:43am

Really love this graphic style.
The gameplay is effective but some jump distance are not intuitive and some thorns are totaly unfair :(
The music is really cool and relaxing, good point in a scoring die and retry game :p
Good job ;)

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:33am

Very good entry! Game is pretty well made, nusic and visuals are awesome! Game mechanic looking good but doublejump has strange behavior, I can't perform it when I want. Maybe this issue because of WebGl version. I'll check it out later with win executable =)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:49am

I Love this!

The artwork is amazing, and it has those little details (like how the camera gently rocks sideways) that add so much character. Skull for game over is also a very clever solution!

As far as gameplay goes, I think you could make things a little more agile. It's not bad at all, but maybe if I could cover a totem-face thing in like two jumps I would be forced to make meaningful decisions more often. Also, I'd test double tapping X to double jump, instead of holding.

Overall, beautiful entry! Good job :3

jdoughty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:14am

Very nice! Very Pretty, and the game play is that right mix of simple and fun!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:27am

Very well polished! Loved it!

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:29am

Beautiful with some great feedback for the SLAMdown! Not a tremendous fan of the gameplay, although I didn't realize you could double jump until I just read the controls here :P I was about to comment that some of the generated obstacles are impossible to pass, but I suppose a double jump would have made it ok.

It felt like there was pretty much no pressure at times to advance up when I got stuck trying to jump a ridge, so I could just take my time and spam jump without any consequences.

Tipyx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:57am

Very beautiful, effective gameplay, but the random sometimes force you to loose :/

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Really nice art but the gameplay looks to be a bit too much random for me.

Congrats!

Farelle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:39pm

I think this is the first game where I have like nothing to say...really...it's just awesome, can't believe this was made within a ludum dare :D

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:27pm

it's a very cool game. controls works great, it's challenging, beautiful graphics and a cool idea of the whole setting

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:50pm

i absolutely love the look of the game, the colours set such a great tone

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:09am

A really cool game with nice graphics ;)

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:38am

Really good entry! I love the visuals

bloomingbuds says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Really pretty and fun. I enjoyed it.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:24pm

That was pretty fun, liked the effects and it was hilarious seeing the totem poles just shoot up just as you were about to reach the top. Avoiding the thorns is surprisingly tricky but solid gameplay!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Very nice graphics and mood. The control scheme works well.
I like the big skull when you die.

jim3wg says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Very Nice game very polished, but some times there is no way to continue due to the way things are stacked and the opposite side is blocked by spikes

pjimmy says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:52am

perfect, especially the designs, superb! beautiful game :D

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:38am

Gorgeous graphics, and excellent incorporation of both themes. Definitely one of my favourites.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:45am

Gorgeous! And the tiny fur ball thingey is so cute and hilarious!
The random totem generation wouldn't be hard to fix at all, and bug fixes after the 72 hours is allowed in the rules if I remember correctly.

YoungHorses says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Simple, nice to play, and with some fun character/humor.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Nice little game, graphics are great, sound design and music to! easy and fun to play!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:45am

Absolutely stunning graphics and great audio!
Gameplay is simple but works for most of the time.. apart from these unfair "dead end" moments - when you're not able to pass the thorns (i.e. they're growing on both opposite sides, one only slightly higher than the other). Would be great to have some rules there - allowing a player to pass obstacles. Maybe thorns could stick out more? (color -wise).

But all in all extremely polished, beautiful entry. Thank you! :)

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Pity that you lose eventually due to thorns placement... Liked the game!

Ganilder says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:39pm

The game doesn´t work on Mac. Fix soon?

Tselmek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:25am

Amazing graphics and audio. The jump mechanic feels a little clunky at times. Great job nonetheless.

Miltage says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:43am

Gorgeous game. Loved the slow down effect when new totems appeared sometimes. Couldn't figure out what I was supposed to be though.

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Very nice graphics and jump / screenshake feel! The mechanics itself are nice, but a bit simple - maybe a few more variations would have been nice (powerups? slimey totems?)

Patomkin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:17am

Fits both themes, is fun and pretty. Amazing game!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:32am

Nice entry. Very cute and funny. The Windows download is missing a .zip extension, and had two .exe files in it.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Hey! Great game! Gameplay was superpolished and art looked awesome. Can't say much more.

Good job! :)

AndreasL says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:55pm

The graphics are really really cool. Probably the best I've seen in a Ludum Dare entry.
I would have loved to keep playing if not for a couple of things gameplay wise. I was not a huge fan of the hold to double jump. It feels unnatural. I would much rather prefer to press the button twice to double jump.

Also the slow motion was really annoying. It interrupted my flow as I didn't know when the game was gonna slow down and when it wasn't.

Solid entry! Good job!

crazya02 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:49pm

*SLAM*

Oh! Come On

I made it to 30. Love the visuals and the juxtaposition of peaceful aesthetic with hectic gameplay. Sometimes a thorn slams down when I'm already in midar and unable to react, but otherwise well done!

Dayko says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:03am

Awesome graphics and polish ! Maybe gameplay could use a bit more depth though, it was boring quite quickly

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:39am

Very great visuals, wish there was more gameplay to go with it though.
dialogue is a nice touch wishm but there was more, as that would inspire me to play longer

dx0ne says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:43am

Absolutely top notch in production values.Everything is super polished.

One thing(aside form RNG) is that it could be better without blocks falling just before you, it's breaking the pace and constant screenshaking is little dizzing after a while.

pixelpotions says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Awesome! Difficult but fun, I'd like for the double jump to just be an extra tap instead of holding the button.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]