Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Growing Sword - Baknik - Ludum Dare 34

by Baknik - Compo Entry

I've titled this entry "The Growing Sword", and it does what it says on the tin. Kill enemies in the castle to grow your sword, which improves it's range and damage. Taking hits from enemies will shorten your sword. If your sword gets too short, you die, and the level will be reset and you will be teleported back to the start. Reach the end of the castle level to win!

Controls:
Movement - A and D or Left Arrow and Right Arrow
Jump - W or Up Arrow
Attack (in the air or on ground) - Space or Enter

I wanted to take this Ludum Dare weekend to experiment more with animation and AI in Unity. I also went a bit overboard with extra visual bits. Unfortunately, this means no audio.

I am very proud of this entry in particular, since it demonstrates the power animation can have over the feel of a game. I barely scratched the surface of what Unity is capable of.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#282Graphics3.48
#633Mood2.75
#680Humor1.78
#800Innovation2.55
#850Theme3.09
#884Overall2.65
#942Fun2.09
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:36am

This game seems VERY interesting, but it was super tough for me to get past even the first enemy. As soon as he had 1/8th of his health left, he would fling me back to the start of the room with his spear. Other than that, the concept and graphics were really nice! Nice work!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:39am

interesting game. some of the collisions on the knights attacks wouldnt work right. and the black knights reach on the first one was a bit too far.

danieldsj says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40am

I found that the resulting mechanics made it a bit clunky. The sword swinging action looks like it took some time to complete, but I didn't think it added much to the game.

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00am

Great graphics but really difficult! Nice job!

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:33am

Super difficult game...
i could not even kill the first guy :|
Dunno if I'm missing something!

Reisen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:36am

I wish I can move while the sword-swinging animation is still running. Currently it feels a bit clunky.

trozen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40am

Great idea making the sword your healthbar. Nice touch!

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29am

difficult but fun! after trying a few times, i reached a high wall which i can't get through. is this the end of the level?
i feel this game has a lot of potential given the difficult and challenge it offers. hoping to play more levels of it

Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:30am

Way too hard to kill enemies but graphics were nice and it's a good concept nice job :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:30am

Too bad there's no sound but the growing sword mechanic is a nice idea and I love how well done the animations were made (Really liked the way the knight's helmet moves when he attacks). My only gripe is that the attack animation is really slow you end up having to resort to hit and run tactics to get the first few enemies.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]