Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Spider World

by philipp - Jam Entry

(We decided to go with the "Growing" Theme)

Arachnophobia, every fifth man and even every third woman has it. This game is the best therapy against it and we bet you'll actually start to like this strange species after playing this kick-ass fun game. Forget Spiderman, Super Spider is the new hero in town.
Swing around, eat insects, escape the lava – are there any more questions?

Manual:
---------

Gameplay:
---------
- Escape from the lava and score high (DevHighScore is 16073 (Philipp) ;P)
- Catch and eat flies to get more web and regenerate health (You have higher chance to catch flies if your
net is big and interconnected)
- Get away from the bees!

Controls:
---------
- Press Left Mouse Button to to begin a thread. Press Left Mouse Button again to finish a thread.
Build a web by connecting threads.
- Navigate your web by using WASD and the mouse.
The highlighted thread is the one you walk on; walk on the thread by using WASD; on an intersection,
turn the spider with your mouse to another thread to make it your current thread.
- Jump with Space
The longer you hold Space before releasing, the further you will jump. You jump in the direction of the cursor.
- Spam E to eat captured flies to fill your webpower (or to attack bees)

Made by:

Philipp Haderdauer (@vanHadedane)- Code
Daniel Moravec - Sound
Sebastian Reuther (@Sebi_Reu) - Code
Thomas Terebesi (@ThomasTerebesi) - Art

Sound Effects and Dupstep from:

http://www.freesfx.co.uk/
http://www.freesound.org/

Background Music:

8BitRampage by BigLeoStar (http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/656365)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#43Innovation(Jam)4.00
#207Audio(Jam)3.57
#216Humor(Jam)3.29
#242Mood(Jam)3.58
#266Overall(Jam)3.59
#286Graphics(Jam)3.86
#331Fun(Jam)3.39
#360Theme(Jam)3.83

Comments

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01am

This was really fun, definitely has a great art style that would have made it perfect for GBJam, but really goes with the "Growing" theme here. Controls were a bit confusing at first (I assumed you had to click where you wanted the web to go, not click to start, then move, then click to finish a web).

Really kicking soundtrack as well! :)

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02am

Really nice graphic style and music, was a bit hard to understand how to play but I got the hang of it eventually :)

JaviCepa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Nice entry! I liked the concept very much and the web mechanic was quite innovative. Good work!

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41pm

The gameboy graphics nail it! I love the art style ♥ The controls take a bit to get used to. Very innovative :>

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Love the Game Boy palette :)

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00pm

I love how polished the graphics are! :)

The gameplay is interesting, but it took me a while to grasp. Ultimately I'd just jump around, reaching the highest possible point, then take a leap hoping not to fall in the lava, have some grub then repeat.

Loved the art style and the overall mood it contributed to generate, along with the music that fits nicely.

Well done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Great Game! The mechanics are innovative and the graphics are pretty nice. You've created an very addictive game! Keep it going!
Greetz from Melbourne (Australia)
P.S. The bees rekt me so many times - i never hated an enemytype like this before.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Oh gosh so cute!! Even spiders can be cute, who knew?

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:52pm

It's not intuitive/real that you can stop in the air while jumping to place the web. Otherwise it's good idea and fun.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:58am

That was a super fun game! It took awhile to get used to the controls, but I really really loved the way you could build your own webs. It was important too to make sure that you had enough to jump around on when the bees came. Very clever, and dang those dubstep bees! Haha

Really really good job! :D

mockthebear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:39pm

the game boy pallete c:
btw, NOT THE BEES
indeed.

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:03pm

the graphics look good, but I was really confused about the gameplay. eventually I got the jump+web mechanic. still it's unclear wether you will jump with or without a web string. and why not just always a string? (if you got it).

dx0ne says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Confusing controls but I guess only for us two legged humans. Great use of theme. And of course Dubstep Bees deserve their own game and tv show.

philipp says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:22am

Thanks for all the feedback so far. Seems like controlls is something we need to improve c:

Dreyan says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:50am

Definitely a unique mechanic. With some slightly more intuitive controls this game has a lot of potential. Cool game!

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Fun game ! The controls are pretty smart. But sometimes I wasn't really sure why I couldn't eat mosquitoes.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:17am

Loved the chiptune-y music! Awesome graphics and I love the originality! So innovative but really hard. I like it! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]